• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Barely breaking 300 feet

You turn back too early. You need to stride more in line with the target and look at the target until you are on your left foot after the x-step.

Well, it looks like you could practice throwing harder, quicker. Form looks good enough, just stretch it out a bit more and put forth more effort.

I am far from an expert, but I had to correct some similar things that I see you doing. The biggest one that will make several pieces of this puzzle come together is actually bracing against a shift from behind. Your front leg should feel similar to a hockey stop on ice skates, and you are kind of just spinning through. Your back foot actually slips backwards, instead of propelling you laterally into the brace.

There is a sensation of timing the furthest stretch of the reachback with the plant of the lead foot. All your muscles from plant foot, through your leg, along your back over your shoulder to the disc, can be thought of like a spring or a rubber band. Stretch that spring to max as your lead foot plants. Foot plant is the brace that your spring unwinds against. Foot plants, hips start to turn, shoulders follow hips and starts to pull the disc. Shoulders turn faster than hips and catch up through the pocket, then the disc is released.

Looks like a funky camera angle. Looks like you are leaning/tipping back off balance in x-step and choppy. Need to move/flow/glide forward more centered/balanced like ballerina.

701DA37.png

Wow thank you. Great advice and videos. Too bad I don't think I can make it to the field today since I'll be at school almost the time while there is enough light to throw.