Ft. Lauderdale, FL 
Easterlin Park Share
Uploaded By: DiscgolfGreg Hole #3 (Taken 9/2013)
3 / 273ft.   3 / 376ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee Sign



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 30
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3
Good but not great

5+    2/19/2017   2/19/2017
Review By: Jswizz
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Quick to play in a small group. Alot of challenge in a small package I believe it's a 20 hole course. Water shots, wooded finesse shots, a couple wide open shots.
Cons: A few REALLY obstructed shots, limited parking, long fences to lose your discs over.
Other Thoughts: This park can be played fast. It's a good park and I enjoy playing it. It has forced me to learn how to play better. The front end is pretty open but sports a water hazard that can eat your discs if you land it deep, keep it close to the edge and you will probably be able to locate it as it doesn't get deep quickly. Much of the course starts in the back end of the park I think it starts at hole 9 and ends on a drive back to the main parking lot on hole 20. The back end is unforgiving, it has coined the nickname treesterlin for a reason. Miss a gap and you will hit a tree harder than a lumberjack. There is a decent amount of foot traffic but most of it stays out of the way in the designated picnic areas that are pretty much out of the way from the fairways. Play it enough and you will run into a clueless park patron wearing headphones completely oblivious that you are trying to play. Most people that play are not squids and will return a found disc to the main office so there is a fair chance you will get a lost disc back.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good to go

1    1/19/2017   1/19/2017
Review By: CudBNAce
Played: 9  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Good signage to indicate next tee placement. Well kept (except hole 17 needed to be mowed). The course will test your accuracy as you transition into the back nine. Nicely poured concrete pads.
Cons: Not a very long course. You will use a lot of your mid range discs as well as your putters.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Pinball Wizard

1    9/3/2016   9/3/2016
Review By: thrembo
Played: 119  Reviewed: 77  Exp: 41.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This slightly different Broward County course offers a more technical kind of experience. One set of tees and two pin placements on most holes (short and shorter) make the tech shots a little more forgiving if you get a bad tree bounce. The fun comes into play near the end of the course when the fairways get overrun with trees creating some fun pinball style bounces that could be beneficial and even lead to an ace! The shade is also nice. This is a good summer course for Florida.
Cons: The course is a little tight and set in a heavily used park. Some of the fairways are a little close to each other.

Hole 1 was a double water carry with trees in your face, forcing a low throw or some other kind of local route that I couldn't see. Rough starting hole! Might want to bring some floating discs.

Navigation may be a little tricky for 1st timers. I recommend getting a map, or better yet, playing a round with some of the friendly locals.
Other Thoughts: Another solid Broward County course that pairs well with the Tradewinds course for a fun day of DGing.

Unless you have telekinesis, your discs will hit trees here. Bring your sturdy discs to this course!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

worth checking out.

2-4    6/28/2016   6/28/2016
Review By: domromer
Played: 81  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 14.3 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Fun course with cool tropical plants and trees.

Iguanas running all over the place.

Scenic and not far from the beach or city stuff if that's your thing.
Cons: Some uninspired holes that play back and forth across a field and a few that play along a fence line.

Looks like it would be crowded on a weekend with other park users.
Other Thoughts: I stayed at the camp ground in my rv and played two rounds. Overall an entertaining course and there is camping with full hookups. I'd say it's worth checking out if you are in the area.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Good Technical-Wooded Course!

2-4    1/24/2016   1/24/2016
Review By: Jpuder
Played: 38  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 14.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Wooded course in south Florida!
- Tight lines off the tee; the course demands percision accuracy.
- Good mix of both hyser and anhyser lines.
- Water adds a good (but not impossible) challenge for 4 holes and then the rest are wooded.
- Plastic poles with bolt at each water hole allow for assisted disc retrieval.
- Good map at the start; signs, tee pads, and pins all in good condition.
- Clean and very well maintained with bathrooms and trash cans.
- Friendly/helpful locals!
Cons: - Course not ideal for beginners because of the narrow fairways and tight wooded lines.
- The course is short; none of these holes will test your arm (for distance).
- Close fence line on a couple holes presents a problem; the fence along the 17th hole is also barbed.
- Possibility to throw near campsites and walkers.
Other Thoughts: Bottom line: It is a wooded course in SOFLO so you got to check it out. Hole 18 was my favorite because of the beautiful trees and incredibly tight fairway. This is a great course to work on the timing of your release.

This is a good technical course, which compliments Tradewinds since it is a big open course only 15 minutes away. Playing both Easterlin and Tradewinds in the same day made for a great day of DG!!! I will be back to Easterlin soon.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Pleasant Course

2-4    1/17/2016   1/18/2016
Review By: hazimwood
Played: 8  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.2 Years
This review was updated on 1/22/2016
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Clean
Well maintained
Bathrooms and water fountain available.
Good mix of left and right shots
benches at each tee pad
Trash Bins everywhere
Concrete pads
lots of tight technical shots through the woods
Locals were nice
Beautiful trees and wildlife

Cons: Course design had people throwing towards one another several times.
Water challenge has no build up, it consumes most of the first 5 shots.
Water is hard to deal with if you have to, even rollers vanish in it..VERY murky. No gators though so people were giving it a go.
Finding some pads is not that easy but the course is so tight that you will eventually find it.
Tee pads were close to the previous pad's basket, causing concern.
Other Thoughts: No Open Bomb shots (You don't really even need a driver here)

This course has really short shots (250' avg?), so you wind up finishing it faster than you expect and you'll want to play another round because you have so much time left. An hour away from my house, so I may only visit here for events.

Overall, It was a pleasant course. No Epic holes really, just nice short shots that sometimes require some finesse and a few over the water that require a little more oomph.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Easterlin

1    12/12/2015   12/12/2015
Review By: adlacro
Played: 94  Reviewed: 87  Exp: 10.7 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 hole course, a prototypical par 54, with Chainstar baskets in fair shape. Course starts out with a mix of slightly more open holes with some trees and intimidating water carries (always fun) then you get into the woods for a short yet tight back nine. The water carries are long but not too long. No hole really stands out, but it is a string of solid holes that with good, precise drives will yield you some birdie opportunities. Tee signs are pretty accurate (but see cons). Well shaded, nice to play on those days when it is brutal and you still have the urge to throw.
Cons: Some of the back nine plays close to a fence that you're not supposed to go over. The biggest concern with that fence would be hole 17. It is not the best design, and that fence can't be more than 8-10 feet high, so either keep it low, or better yet, throw a roller if you have one. That's what I should have done. The holes on the back nine are really tight, and so if there are groups nearby, give them the few minutes to clear out before playing the next hole (esp. 11 and 15). Tee sign does not tell you what position the basket is in. Also be careful with the entrance road that comes into play on a few holes (1 and 9 come to my mind).
Other Thoughts: I want to give the locals credit for doing something with the land. By all means this is no destination course, but it is fun if you want to break out the midranges, the putters, and a few "no biggie if this goes in the lake" discs and go have some fun. When I get settled down here, I will be back, and if you're in the area and want to throw a round, give Easterlin a try.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Good course, great locals

1    10/4/2015   10/4/2015
Review By: gabereif
Played: 38  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 5.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Good mix of open and wooded holes
-Holes that bend left and right
-Active local crowd of friendly, dedicated golfers
-Color score card and map available at entrance
-Almost every hole has a fair line
-Nice use of water and trees to add challenge to an otherwise flat plot of land
-Plenty of birdie opportunities if you hit your lines
-It's pretty easy to find discs in the rough
-No fire ants, unlike other courses I've played in FL
-While there is only one tee per hole, each hole has multiple pin positions and they supposedly change them regularly.
Cons: -It's pretty easy to lose discs several of the water carries.
-Navigation would have been hard if I hadn't played my round with a really nice group of locals. I can't detail this because I was chauffeured from hole to hole by four great guys.
-The fairways are a little too tight on a couple of holes, but this course is about accuracy, not distance. And you don't get punished that badly for missing your line.
Other Thoughts: I was in the area visiting family. I showed up at 8AM on a Sunday and there saw one group of 10 people and was quickly invited to join another group of 4. I had a fantastic time playing with Dan, Jake, David, and Paul. Great guys and they took great care of me. Hanging with them made navigation a breeze, they showed me the lines on every hole, and helped me look for my disc that went in the lake.

Most of the holes are about 250 feet. Trees and water carries add challenge to the course, which is a nice change of pace compared to Tradewinds. I really like the flow of the course and how there are no long walks between holes. It's scenic and the shade is very pleasant. The cypress roots are really cool. The $1.50 I spent was a total bargain. This makes for a great local course and certainly worth a 30 minute drive for someone in the area. It's right off I-95 and anyone looking to play should make the trip.

This course could easily reach a 3.5 if navigation was improved. The tee signs are good, but it's hard to find the next hole and see some of the baskets.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Cypress sanctuary course

5+    5/25/2015   5/30/2015
Review By: Wook1
Played: 24  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 8 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Interesting little 18 hole course, perfect for playing multiple rounds in a day as well to disc down and leave the drivers at home.  This course requires and rewards finesse over distance. 2 pin placements on each hole,  layout rotates once a month. Most holes are in the 150-250 range depending on pin placement. Easterlin is on the shorter side, but the tight cypress trees force concentrations and planning lines before each throw. In the last year or two there was a redesign of park roads slightly changing the layout. First hole is one of the changes and IMO the one I see most people going into the drink. Tee off to left of practice basket, really fun throw. It plays over water, a small peninsula, and water again. Option to go for it or lay up to next peninsula for the easy 3 (and no lost plastic). I really like how the water hazards are incorporated here, with each tempting the throw over but also giving you a fair "safer" route over land. Hole 6 is a perfect example, with two distinct options. RHBH hyzer out over the water or a longer RHFH out around guardian plams.  Holes 8-11 are all mid/putter shots with a few possible ace runs if your on point. Especially 10, basket is next to OB chain link fence that substitutes for a nice backboard. 16 in B is one of my favorites at easterlin, very tight lines and lets you use a fairway driver off the tee. Pin is nestled back in the corner of fence.

Great local crowd, always friendly & welcoming to new comers. 

Perfect for FL summer heat/sun, thick cypress canopy gives valuable shade during rounds.

Very little "rough" & only a few places to deal with the jungle in the event of a poor throw.

Trash and recycle bins throughout the 18
Cons: IMO some holes/fairways are too close to each other, 6-7 comes to mind. If you throw in the pond chances are you probably won't see that plastic again, very murky/brown water. No pin placement info at tee areas
Other Thoughts: I'm always jealous of the locals and all their custom carts/strollers

There is a store at the corner of powerline that sells disc.

$1.50 on weekends & holidays -free all other days

Thursday random draw dubs round @ 5pm

Sunday random draw dubs round @ 10am

Campsites and RV sites available on location.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


1    2/27/2015   3/4/2015
Review By: reposado
Played: 278  Reviewed: 276  Exp: 5.7 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It's hard not give this course credit for offering something that no other course does in the area. This course has trees. It forcers discers to throw lines. After a full day in South Florida, this was very much needed. I can appreciate a mostly open course, especially if has a lot of water, aesthetic beauty and hopefully some elevation. But for me, it's just more fun when I'm bending a disc around a certain point in the fairway. If I'd played this in North Carolina, I would have considered it average. In South Florida, I was thrilled.
It does have a little water, however. 1 is the best of those holes, it sports a nice carry and a half, with the basket on the left of the second inlet you cross. A safely placed first shot will cross water and leave you with an approach that could traverse the second carry and fade left or approach the basket straight over land. An excellent first drive will carry both bodies of water and fade towards the basket.
5 is monster carry that makes less sense at this course but 6 offers a nice choice between hyzering over the water and approaching safely over land, but the land shot require switching to forehand.
But forget the water, if you're discing here, you're looking for the treed holes. There isn't really a signature hole among them. They are pretty much all solid but unremarkable. Adequately placed, with identifiable fairways and in some cases a choice of gaps.
It's a fun play, but nothing that you will remember at the end of the day. Unless you've never played north of here. Still, probably my favorite of the older courses in the area.
Cons: No way to tell which position the pin is in and the baskets do blend in to the background. It would be nice to add some color there are a system of indicating the position on the tee sign.
Typically, the nest tee is visible from the previous basket but for the few times it isn't, an arrow or colored spoke would be welcome.
There are a few occasions where imperfect shots cross into the fairways of adjacent holes. There is also 17, which runs along a fence that will trouble inexperienced RHBH throwers.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.