Lewisville, TX 
Leonard L. Woods Park Share
Uploaded By: climber3201 Hole #3
3 / 246ft.   3 / 246ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 53
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Hey now

5+    6/2/2009   6/2/2009
Review By: Roc1Time
Played: 131  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 15.7 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Cool course that gives a little different look from the "lake". The front nine has lots of short holes that you must bird to score well here. Good tee signs and pads as well. Very easy to follow and it is always mowed. You can throw lots of different types of shots on most holes ranging everywhere from RHBH to LHBH and everything in between! You get to try out your drivers on the back nine because of the much longer length. Fun course for all skill levels and can be made harder for the pro/adv players! When played with the lake it can make or a fun 2 rounds of golf.
Cons: People walking along the trails can get kind of frustrating at points. Not alot of shade so it can get hot. Bring drinks cause it is a way back to the parking lot.
Other Thoughts: If you play concrete and beyond OB, ths course is very fun and challenging as well!

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Not bad

1    5/15/2009   5/15/2009
Review By: p1samuel
Played: 13  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 15.1 Years
This review was updated on 5/21/2009
6 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: VERY WELL LAID OUT!!! Great mix of open shots and lightly - moderately wooded shots.
Cons: Lots of short holes. It is part of a public park that has a cement trail that runs along most of it, so you have to wait for people to pass when the park is busy.
Other Thoughts: Play the drainage ditch as out of bounds if you want to challenge yourself a little more.

Expect to wait to make your shot during the weekend because of the crowded park. The best time to play this course is in the morning and early afternoon on a weekday. If you are out playing on a weekday morning, hit up Lake Lewisville as well, since it is crowded with golfers on the weekend.

6 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Easy and Fun

5+    5/9/2009   5/9/2009
Review By: skipbo1
Played: 12  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 17 Years
This review was updated on 5/19/2009
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Park and clean and has Bathrooms. Easy to find your way around the course.
Cons: Hole 18 needs to be moved away from ball field and playground area.
Other Thoughts: its a fun simple course to play. I like the park. I think this is the best course in the Dallas area. .NOTE HOLE 16 is missing the top part of basket and chains.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Putter Practice!!

5+    5/2/2009   5/2/2009
Review By: XxInnovaxX
Played: 46  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 8.6 Years
This review was updated on 7/31/2009
8 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: this course is well maintained, with decent bathrooms and a playground nearby if the wife and kids wanna come and dont wanna play golf. no real hazard of losing a disc(which is always a plus lol). great course to take begginers learning the game. these short holes will definitely be a confidence booster. I your a more experienced player it might be a lil boring but there are plenty of ace runs, basically every hole. so come out and test out your accuracy, or as someone else had posted play on a windy day. this course is wide open so the wind makes it a little tricky.

Play sidewalks and beyond O.B. and this course plays a lot harder...great course for a quick game of night golf!!

safe neighborhood
little traffic(as far as golfers go)......fairly easy to navigate....
Cons: short. just depends on what your looking for. me personally i like a little more excitement.

A LOT OF WALKERS, so watchout.

the playground i mentioned earlier is right next to 18s basket so be careful and watch out for little kids.
Other Thoughts: bring sunblock little shade
always good for a quick round
**if you think this course is a little too easy, start looking for the long tees....its just a small block in the ground with distance marked on it, ask a local and im sure they could show you to them....kind of hard to explain on here

8 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Nice little course

5+    1/17/2009   1/18/2009
Review By: sgb118
Played: 24  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 11.7 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course doesn't take long to play at all. If you have other plans, but you want to squeeze a quick round in, this is a good one. Great practice course, as you can use every throw type on every hole. It is easy to follow due to the signs next to all the baskets. Nice park with friendly people. The course is also a nice little walk.
Cons: Not a lot worng with it. The sidewalk does go through the middle of the course, but I played on a Saturday, and there was hardly any traffic. Some signs were missing, but you can see every basket from the tee. 18 is close to the playground, but it isn't too bad, the kids stay in the playground...just play to the basket and you won't hit them.
Other Thoughts: Great course to start on I would think. Like I said this course is perfect for practice. I will continue to play it from time to time. Everyone isfriendly, so don't be shy.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 good for novices, or for practicing

2-4    12/24/2008   1/5/2009
Review By: obryn
Played: 7  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 9.7 Years
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Almost every tee is concrete and easy to find.
Baskets from most tees are directly ahead and in plain view. This makes it easy for new players to find their way around.
Green scenery is aesthetic and well maintained.
Many holes are long and wide open. You can get in some really good driver practice here!
Cons: The final holes are near a playground that frequently has children around it. Not that I don't like children, it just makes me nervous because I have a tendency to overthrow sometimes!
The location is also close to a neighborhood, but I only found myself retrieving a disc from a front yard once.
There are several ditches between many holes of the course. On a dry day these ditches are pretty much empty, but beware if you play after it has rained because they can build up with gunky water. On the good side though, it is never deep enough to lose a disc, you just might have to wipe it off.
The course is quite flat in most places.
There are few trees but on the first hole several trees are positioned directly in front of the tee. This can be frustrating and get you off to a bad start.
Walking distance between some holes is far. And a few of the later holes have you walking back and forth.
Other Thoughts: I've been there four times now, all during peak hours, and have rarely seen more than three small groups of players. Unlike many courses in the DFW area, I have never had to wait on a group ahead of me to finish the hole. Now this can be either a pro or a con, depending on how you look at it. I have met many great people at crowded disc golf courses, so if your looking to make friends, you might want to go to lewisville lake or Denton's North lake park. But if you want a quiet, undisturbed round of disc golf, Leonard L. Woods is a good choice.

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Doesn't Offend, Doesn't Excite

5+    10/15/2008   11/15/2008
Review By: onjejank
Played: 35  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 22.1 Years
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Clear-cut lines for fairways and straightforward play here: on every hole you know what the preferred attack should be and you can always see the basket. Great beginner course. Can be played quickly. Well maintained and a good mix of long and short holes. There's a playground at this course so if you have kids, that's a nice feature to have close by.
Cons: Overall, it's not a pretty walk - a "normal" neighborhood course. Sometimes there's lots of walkers and course winds through heavily traveled walkways.
Other Thoughts: You can get a good workout for your game on this course - it's open so you can try all of your shots on every hole and get a good training session in. On a windy day, it's a great place to practice those wind shots as there's nowhere to hide.

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Little course, little challenge, alot of fun on windy days though

2-4    9/27/2008   10/21/2008
Review By: fly_hyzer
Played: 41  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 15 Years
7 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Short holes, fairly open, with few trees peppering fairways to keep it interesting. This course can be a beating in the summer with little protection from the sun, but if you want some fun on a windy day this course will definitely serve up a challenge being that it is basically devoid of windbreaks.
Cons: Short and difficult to play on hot, windless summer days. Another reviewer put it well, that the last two holes are basically baskets in the middle of fields.
Other Thoughts: If you have a friend who wants to play a round with you and they aren't very experienced, taking them here first would probably be a good experience for them. The course is open and very forgiving on any day with normal weather conditions.

7 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Decent course

1    9/20/2008   9/26/2008
Review By: Tortoise
Played: 14  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 9 Years
6 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course is well kept and the locals are friendly. Most of the holes a wide open fairways with mabye a few trees as obsticals. It is very heard to lose a disc here because the course is so flat and wide open. If your just beginning I would recommend playing here for a safe rould of disc golf. Most of the holes are fairly short but some really allow you to unleashed your power or work on it.
Cons: The course go a little boring towards the end. The last few holes are just tees and baskets in a field. I think there were only two trees on the last 4 holes.
Other Thoughts: The course is definitely worth playing once or twice but there a lot better courses within 10 to 20 miles

6 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 A Simple Little Gem

2-4    1/4/2009   9/21/2008
Review By: Donovan
Played: 235  Reviewed: 186  Exp: 30 Years
This review was updated on 5/31/2010
14 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This park is very clean, safe, and well maintained. The cement tee pads are excellent and the baskets are in great shape. The tee signs were easy to read and were in great shape. Some of the baskets on the front side are next to a drainage wash (with a downhill roll, you might find yourself in that OB) making you play smart on those holes. They have great little wooden signs near the baskets on most holes telling you where the next tee pad is located; that was very helpful. Most of the holes are wide-open shots and had just a few trees. You should not lose a disc here. They do have a bathroom and many trashcans on site.
Cons: This is a simple little gem of a course and really has very few negatives. However this is what I came up with. This park was fairly crowded and the course does follow the sidewalk through the first half of the holes. So waiting to throw can happen often, but keep in mind we did play this course on a Saturday. You do have to back track to some of the tees on the front 9, so keep your eyes on the group behind if there is one, but it really wasn't too bad. Last thing I can think of is there have been some hole adjustments, so some of the distances might be off on the tee signs. I would trust what is posted in our Hole Info, to be safe.
Other Thoughts: The Fun Factor he is just OK for me.There are many ace runs pn this course. The holes do get a bit longer on the back nine. So it plays to you warming up before throwing long. This course didn't seem like much at first, but it turned out to be a fun little course. I can see myself going back there to play it again without a doubt.

14 of 16 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.