Ocala, FL 
Ocala Greenway DGC Share
Uploaded By: Scott L. Kuhns Hole #8 (Taken 7/2010)
4 / 280ft.   3 / 280ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Basket



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 45
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Technical non typical FL Course

5+    1/10/2017   1/18/2017
Review By: screvy
Played: 48  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 9.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Will make you use every shot you have. RHBH, Flick Thumbers, Rollers etc. Tees are decent with well defined fairways. Once off the fairways from a non perfect shot is where all the shot uses will come in. Good mix of par 3s and 4s. Great elevation changes. Real challenge for a FL course.
Cons: Basket could be better. Signage is lacking or missing. If your first time here can be hard to find the extra hole. (After playing 4 go directly right and you will find 4b and 4c). (After playing 6 go to the left of the basket down the hill pass the palms to find 6b. 6b basket is straight down low ceiling shot. Go to the left of the basket up a hill and you will find a trail go left back the way you came walking on the trail to find 6c a short par 3). Rough is Rough, When you get off the fairway expect prickers, burrs, seed pods, sticks, sand spurs etc. Can be very hard to find your disc at times. Does not make for easy single player rounds. Course flow is horrible. After nine holes you are the farthest from the parking lot. All 24 holes is a very big loop, no bathrooms, no water.
Other Thoughts: Come to this course expecting to work on your technical placement type disc golf game. If you play smart and shoot a 70 or under your doing something right. I have played many rounds out here and def. know when i am on point and having a good day by the score i shoot. really will bring out your flaws and show you what you need to work on.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Go with someone who has been there

1    10/17/2014   10/20/2014
Review By: Tom Z
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Beautiful setting if you like central Florida flora (which I do).

Concrete T-pads.

Good signs at T-Pads.

Great information on score card. I loved the average score and handicap.

Fair variety of distances. Nothing under 200; nothing over 500. This is both a Pro and a Con. I like a couple of ace runs for players who don't throw far, as well as a couple of chances to really air one out for the people with big arms.
Cons: Poor signage. There was a large set of arrows at the parking lot pointing to the #1 T-Pad. Following the trail led to a couple of forks with no signage as to which way to go.

Once a hole was finished it was anyones guess as to where to go next. The course map might point you in the right direction but not accurately enough to find the next T-Pad.

The hole numbering system (4, 4b, 4c, 5) leaves a lot to be desired if using a cell phone app to keep score since the app only numbers thing in sequence. So when you cell phone tells you you should be playing 21, you are actually playing the hole labeled 15 on the T-Pad sign.

Too many blind shots. I walked the fairways quite often to find out where the basket was. The T-Pad sign would give you a general idea but it was still hard to know which set of trees to hook around and how far past them the Basket was.
Other Thoughts: A previous reviewer referred to the hills. I would definitely not call this a course with hills, although there were a few berms and ditches. Nothing like the 30 ft. elevation changes you may find elsewhere in the country. Of course there is nothing that can be done about this. After all, it is Florida.

This is a very enjoyable course if you are with someone who knows there way around. If you are and out of towner you will probably not have much fun as you will spend most of your time trying to figure out where to go.

This course has the potential to be a 4 or 4.5 with awesome signage. I play disc golf to throw disc not to try and figure out where the next T-Pad is or where the Basket is.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Nice Florida Course

6/4/2008   6/5/2008
Review By: overdose
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: It is great to see a course in Florida that has hills. With this only being my 4th course I have played it was great to play on something new.
Smelled great, I love the pine tree smell.
Cons: Wow, it was hot. It had some shade but still Florida is way too hot to play in the summer.

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Winter Course

12/25/2007   1/1/2008
Review By: cdeane
Played: 50  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 12.7 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good mix of open and woods shots in a great pine-scented atmosphere. Nice concrete tee pads so you're not driving from the sand. Tee markers in good shape and signs to next tee (you have to pay attention) at most baskets.
Cons: Some tee markers are misleading, with sharper degrees on the course than indicated on the marker. Some of the pars seem to be off also (notably a 300' par 3 that none of us made next to a 280 par 4 that 2 of us birdied)
Other Thoughts: Can't imagine playing this in the summer. I was sweating on Christmas day. Being a northerner it is tough to know how some of the vegitation will affect your discs. Some stuff that looked like pretty flimsy leaves stopped my disc cold when it hit.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.