Atlantic, IA 
Sunnyside DGC Share
Uploaded By: strain Hole #3 (Taken 5/2011)
3 / 221ft.   3 / 280ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Sunnyside DGC

1    12/23/2016   1/31/2017
Review By: lazrman778
Played: 103  Reviewed: 83  Exp: 6.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Has concrete tee pads for all tees

Has nice tee signs with locations of the various basket placements

Has many benches throughout course

Has multiple basket placements for all holes

Has next tee signs posted throughout - easy to navigate

More open than wooded fairways with most holes having changes in elevations - which will be fun to the casual player

Water comes into play on some of the holes but they aren't really a factor in losing a disc

Has two loops of the front and back nines

Well-maintained

Free parking

Restrooms
Cons:
Safety issues - course has a few holes that play near the road and playground

Course design and flow could use improvement as there are some moderately long walks between some holes

Course can get crowded at times as it's popular with parkgoers and players
Other Thoughts:
This a nice, challenging multi-use 18 hole city course in Atlantic that I enjoyed playing on a rainy Friday afternoon. I probably would have had more fun if it wasn't raining on the day I played. First thing that surprised me was that the course had varying elevations. The elevations and the mature trees scattered throughout the course reminded me to keep my drives in control from the concrete tee pads. There is nice artwork on the tee signs but it would probably be better if there was some kind of basket placement indicator on them. There are three par 4s but I felt that hole #4 was the only legit one while the other two fell into the easy par 4/hard par 3 category. This is a well-maintained course and I can see how this course can get crowded with other players and parkgoers. Some of the holes play fairly close to the park's amenities and roads so that potentially can cause some concern in safety and delays depending on how busy the park is. Some holes had some moderately long walks in between but they weren't that bad. Other than that, it's an excellent course to play. If you're in this area, I highly recommend playing this course as it's a fun one to play.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun elevation

1    9/16/2012   11/5/2012
Review By: mashnut
Played: 827  Reviewed: 775  Exp: 15.1 Years
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a beautifully kept park with grassy fairways and mature trees. Most of the holes have enough trees to keep things interesting, but enough space to offer some different routes. You might have to get creative if you miss your lines, but there are chances to recover with little underbrush on the majority of the course. A couple holes play a little tighter with more rough, offering some chances to get into trouble with an errant shot.

Elevation comes into play on nearly every hole. Many have moderate hills that add some challenge and variety, you have to know how your discs will fly with elevation changes to be successful here. There are a couple big downhill bombs where you'll want to empty your bag, it's always fun to watch discs fly off elevated tee pads.

The amenities here are very nice. Most holes have two tees, all are large concrete pads with good texture. Many have retaining walls to prevent erosion and direct water away from the tees. There are good signs at both sets of tees with distances and hole layouts along with directions to the next tee. There are 2-3 pin placements on each hole, changing things up and adding some extra variety.
Cons: The multiple placements are nice, and are designed well to provide different challenges. That said, I find it a little frustrating when current pin placements aren't noted on the tee signs or course kiosk, it adds extra scouting to figure out how long the hole is and where to throw and means the nice signs are less useful.

There isn't a whole lot of punishment here for bad shots, you can almost always recover for par if you throw an errant drive. There are a few holes that feel like fillers, short and not very interesting. Several holes have potential conflicts with other park uses and the park road, on a nice day there could definitely be some safety issues.
Other Thoughts: Beginners will find this course fairly approachable, especially from the short tees. It's not too long, and definitely isn't so punishing that it would frustrate less accurate throwers. More experienced players will find some fun shots and some great elevation, but not quite enough punishment to make it a top level challenge.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Great stop

1    9/27/2009   9/27/2009
Review By: Swisher Streets
Played: 85  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 12.9 Years
This review was updated on 5/15/2010
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Extremely nice teepads/signs
- A lot of benches
- Good balance of holes (Hyzer, Anny, Straight, long, short, finesse, power, etc)
- Pro/Am tees with a few shared
- Well maintained in a beautiful park
- Good for any level of skill. Am/pro tees offer a noticible change in difficulty
Cons: - A lot of walking in between holes, some back tracking.
- Took us a little bit to find tee pads being our first time.
Other Thoughts: We made a stop on the way from council bluffs to des moines and all agreed it was a very nice course. We were messing around for the most part and shot +5 +7 +7. If you went and played serious you could easily shoot underpar. Really nice course, id definitely suggest it to people. I've met the head of the course if you will, at a few tournaments and hes a really good guy. He and Mike Wulbeker (Spelling?) are really putting in work to bring disc golf to western Iowa.

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Impressive Course

2-4    8/1/2009   8/1/2009
Review By: Hector Chain
Played: 179  Reviewed: 174  Exp: 8.8 Years
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Pros: The holes have two tee pads, a "pro" pad and a "rec" pad. Each hole also has two (and sometimes three) pin positions, although only one basket is in use at any given time. The signage, which is some of the best I've seen, shows the distances, various pin positions, pars, and where the next tee is. The course wasn't bad to navigate, and you don't need a map (although there is one near the first hole). The front nine plays through a very nice area of mature trees with some low-hanging branches, so you often will have to throw low and flat. They aren't overly tight, though, with the exception of the 6th hole. The second half is slightly less wooded but has a couple holes (14 and 15) with some great risk/reward where you probably need to thread a small window to get a birdie. Hole 12 is a fun cliff shot. One of the pictures shows this hole, although the picture doesn't do it justice. Since it is a public park, it is well taken care of. There are a couple holes just under 200 feet, but they are all either pretty wooded or uphill. Most of the holes are 225-350 feet, as I recall. This place has some nice elevation. Two other cool holes: The first hole has the basket blocked by a playground ladder, so you have to throw through it or around it. Cool idea. And the 6th hole has a short but narrow fairway from the pro pad to the rec pad that requires some precise placement to play the dogleg to the basket.
Cons: You don't have the park to yourself. There was a Boy Scout gathering near the first hole, but they weren't really in the way. However, I couldn't tee off on #13...because there was a wedding in the fairway! You'll probably have most of the course to yourself, but there is real potential to have other park users in the way on #1, 10, 13, and 14. The course also had more players on it than I expected considering how new it is. That's great that it's already a success, but hopefully it doesn't end up getting crowded. Finally, some of the pro tee pads were just farther back but didn't give a really different look to the hole.
Other Thoughts: I drove here to check it out from Omaha. It is well worth the drive for a refreshing course. Parks like this are ideal locations for courses, and towns would do well to use some of their park dead space for courses. I'll be back.


10 of 11 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.