Austin, TX 
Circle C Metro Park @ Slaughter Creek Share
Uploaded By: Bevo Hole #18 (Taken 5/2009)
5 / 888ft.   5 / 822ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Approach



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 76
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5
The best course in an area of great courses

2-4    2/17/2017   2/20/2017
Review By: jamminbales
Played: 16  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 0.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -You'll never get bored of it
-Shady
-Great teeboxes and signs
Cons: -Very rocky, will tear up your cheap plastic
-Not for beginners
Other Thoughts: Difficulty (5/5): This course is downright punishing. The first four holes start out relatively easy, then the par 5 hole #4 hits and the strokes really start piling up. The fairways are narrow and if you find yourself off of the fairway you've almost guaranteed yourself a bogey. Most holes have a low ceiling combined with a rocky ground, so you can't air it out or skip it. The par 4's and 5's are accurate, they will certainly stretch your arm. But don't overthrow or you'll find yourself 20 feet into the trees struggling to save double bogey.

Maintenance (4.5/5): Two sets of great teeboxes, each with colorful and descriptive signs. Large stones to sit on at each tee. Plenty of trashcans. The trail between hole 12 and 13 can flood sometimes, forcing you to walk up to the overpass nearby.

Variability (5/5): Circle C will force you to use every single shot/disc in your bag and want to go to the field to learn new ones. Off the tee you'll throw hyzers, anhyzers, turnovers, flex shots (if you have them), tight S-curves, hyzer flips, skip shots (on the few holes that have enough grass to do so. You'll drive with mid ranges on par fours just to hit the right line and be in the right spot for your upshot. There are probably 4 holes that the average player can just let it loose without worrying about a tree ceiling, but on those holes they'll still have to shape their shots to avoid the trees in the fairway or navigate the doglegs. I can't say enough about the variability on this course.

Flow/Experience (4.5/5): The flow is brilliantly designed. My entire group had never played it before the first time we played, and it was very simple to find our way to the next holes. If it looks like a path is near the basket, just follow it and you'll soon be at the next tee. Hole 1 is near the parking lot and hole 18 lets out across the field from the parking lot. And all the holes are fairly close to the established park trail system (without putting the trails within throwing distance) so that you an call it a day at any hole. This is good since the loose rocky terrain of the course makes it more likely for a sprained ankle to happen.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Circle C

5+    2/2/2017   2/14/2017
Review By: tst3c
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Circle C is a fabulous course. It's definitely a higher skill-level course, but I've seen a ton of beginners out on the course huckin' all over and having a blast. It's a very long course with long holes, so each 18 hole play through is about 1hr per person.

The holes offer a ton a variety in multiple ways. I throw both RHBH and RHFH and some overhead shots- you'll need them all to excel here. There is a ton of length, but many holes that require precision on tight lines as well. The holes themselves are all really well designed in my opinion, varying from shorter Par 3's and ace runs to tricky Par 4's and even the signature Par 5 800ft 18th hole (feels like 2000ft at times...). Furthermore there are multiple tee pads on many of the holes, giving frequent players a bit more variety when you play.

There are many areas to sit near holes. The trail is nearby, so if you need to skip out or if you go and play until the sun dies (me, Winter, always) I can sometimes play 5-6 holes and walk right back out to the parking lot with the trails.

Overall, this course can be very challenging but incredibly rewarding. I have tried bombing many holes and failed. I've tried precision and worked my way through the course arduously. Both styles can be utilized throughout the course and there is a ton of fun to be had.

There are a few fields nearby as well as 2 practice baskets, so it's a great way to get ready for the round beforehand. I would strongly suggest this course if you haven't played yet!
Cons: The course has litter often. Hate to say it, but not everyone will do their part to keep the course clean. It's not too bad, though.

Many holes lack their signs. The layout of the course gives a really good idea of where to go, but it's always nice to have a good sense of what the hole is like first. There is a lot of graffiti as well.

The teepads themselves are solid; however, many are on a platform and surrounded by wood/tree trunk foundations. Although aesthetically nice, I struggle sometimes with getting a good run-up. That's more preferential, as I can probably use more practice throwing from a stand-still anyways...
Other Thoughts: Bring water/snacks. It can be a very long course and a long day. Many mini groups play throughout the week and some don't like to let groups of 3 or more through them, even if they have 8+, although I try to be a funny guy and usually don't have a problem. Rocks can be brutal on your discs, but that's the name of the game. Definitely play here

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

One of Austin's Best Courses

2-4    3/11/2016   1/4/2017
Review By: wellsbranch250
Played: 95  Reviewed: 74  Exp: 3.1 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: (4.264 Rating) Generally regarded as the best course in Austin.
- CHALLENGING - Circle C is one of the more challenging courses in the entire Austin metro area. The holes are fairly long from the back tees and adequately narrow but fair at the same time. It will definitely bring out all your weak areas and punish you alike. The course is a good mix of both power and finesse holes. Probably only upper end advanced players break par from the backs on a routine basis.
- UNIQUENESS - The overall uniqueness is way above your average 18 hole course. There are a bunch of 4's and two par 5's. Doglegs holes occur in both directions. There are good up and down elevation shots on back to back holes 9 and 10. There are well guarded pocket shots, and windows shots and well defined tunnel fairways. Really the only thing that is missing is a creek element or pond in play. There is a creek bed on 18, but it's been dry for all 3 of my rounds here.
- SHOT SELECTION - I probably play 70 percent backhand and the rest flicks on this course. 90% of your drives will have to be well thought out and placed and few need to be both bombed and fairly precise.
- CHARACTER - The course definitely has the feel of an older established course. lots of stone and wood work for terracing. There is very well artistically illustrated and fairly accurate hole signage throughout the course. Most of the tees are shaded well and there are two tees pads at most holes for ams and pros. There is great seating and a practice field and basket at one. Trash cans are spaced every few holes. If there was one thing that I'd add, it would be multiple pin placements.
- TEES - Some of the best tees in all of Austin. They are concrete, long and wide.
- SPACING - well spaced out holes with no chance of running one into another fairway. The walk to the next hole is generally not too far with perhaps 12 to 13 being an exception.
- CHILL AREAS - Lots of secluded areas and benches at every hole to take a break at.
- NATURAL BEAUTY - The course in my opinion, is one of the more scenic course I've played. (However only average among the south side Austin courses as I find the natural beauty of Zilker and Bible Ridge a touch more picturesque)
Cons: All the below items I find to be minor issues when rating a course.
- TIME WAITING - This course gets heavy use. Rarely will one play a round here and not have to stop and wait at some point. There really isn't any good points to skip a hole if needed either.
- TIME PLAY - Course is not a quick play, a group of 4 should plan to be here at least 3 hours to complete 18 holes.
- OVERGROWTH - At some point you will end up in the rough. the terrain is pretty raw in areas. I always seem to spend significant time looking for errant discs in the over abundance of scraggly cedar trees and low shrub vegetation.
- TERRAIN - If you have bad knees or ankles stay clear of this course. Lots of rocks and roots to stub a toe or twist an ankle on. Although I've seen them before here, not the best course for the disc golf bag stroller. you'd need some big wheels.
- NAVIGATION - Tricky in spots on my first time threw. Be sure to have a map. Course does generally do a good job with next tee arrows on the hole signage. But if you're like me, I've already forgotten the next tee call-out by the time I finish the hole.
- SKILL LEVEL FRIENDLY - This really is not a beginners course, even from the am pads. although the odds of losing a disc is below average, the course requires the skills of a seasoned player to not come away felling defeated. Rec players will be 20 to 30 over par.
- VANDALISM - There was a bunch of tagging on the hole signage.
Other Thoughts: One of best courses I've ever played. It has a little bit of everything regardless of a players personal preferences. The only players that be advised to stay clear are beginners with less than 1 year experience and those with walking impairments. If you are from out of town and can hit one course in the area, this should be number 1 or 2 on your list.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Great Variety of Holes

1    12/16/2015   12/16/2015
Review By: markmcc
Played: 173  Reviewed: 162  Exp: 4.9 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course offers everything from short little 200' ace runs to monster 800'+ par fives. While not hilly, there is enough elevation to set up a few uphill and downhill holes as well.

The course plays through a wooded area with enough trees and shrubs to create definite fairways and punishing rough, but isn't so tight that you are dealing with tight tunnels or "poke-n-pray" holes. The fairways on most holes a generously wide, but all require hitting your line to avoid some pretty tight rough.

Two concrete tee pads on most holes. The pads are large, level concrete with excellent texture. All of the pads are boxed in with large cedar timbers, and many have additional steps or terraces built as well. Really a great example of how to handle tees on heavily used courses.

Good descriptive tee signs with an accurate hole diagram, distances, par, next hole arrow, etc. Very helpful for this travelling golfer. Innova baskets in good shape, and easy to spot with their yellow top bands.

Hole 18 is a great finishing hole. At over 800' from either tee, you are looking at two or three sweeping drives to get into position for the final section of the hole. You hit a gap into a final narrow wooded fairway to the basket set just across a small creek. With timbers forming steps down to, and then back up out of the creek, and the basket tucked into a small circular clearing in the trees, it is a worthy final challenge on this excellent course.
Cons: The course gets a lot of use and is pretty well beat in. Lots of bare, rocky ground, a few tee signs missing and a couple tagged as well. In spite of plenty of trash cans and even signs on each tee telling you where the next trash can is, too many cans and bottles on the ground.

The ground is rocky, and covered with sharp, exposed rock as well. You will be throwing into, and landing on rock, and your discs will get banged up a little. Bring your premium plastic!

This is a popular mixed use park, and I had a couple of encounters with people just walking on the fairways, usually with an unleashed dog or two.

Navigation is good due to the well-worn trails between holes, but a couple of "next tee" signs would be welcome where other trails cross.
Other Thoughts: The first time I tried to play this course was on a nice weekday afternoon. There were several groups waiting to tee off on Hole 1, with a couple of more groups getting in behind me as I waited. I bailed that day because the crowds just looked miserable.

This time I arrived at 8:30 on a cool, cloudy morning and had the course to myself. The course obviously gets a lot of traffic so plan ahead or be ready for a slow round.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Getting slaughtered was fun!

1    6/1/2014   6/1/2015
Review By: waterhyzerd
Played: 71  Reviewed: 18
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very nice multi-use park but the course area is mostly DG exclusive.

Shot variety was plentiful. It has distance, left, right, up and down. I was an out-of-towner so I only had about 10 different discs on me- pretty sure I used all of them.

Hole 18. From my one time playing it, I gather it took a technical first shot, followed by a huge righty hyzer over the top to put you in front of or right behind the creek, and then a putt for a 4 if you're lucky. Definitely the top signature hole here.

Dual teepads, adequate trashcans and navigation, and discatchers in good repair.
Cons: As mentioned previously, the footing was well affected by a little rain and some nasty clay/ mud. After a while, the teepads seemed to lack available real estate on the sides for scraping mud off of our shoes.
Other Thoughts: The terrain seemed on the rugged side which was a plus. I appreciate courses that blur the line between playing disc golf and going for a legitimate hike; circle c gave me that feeling. Coming from Michigan where we seem to have our fair share of quality courses, I would rank this one easily in our top five as well.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Definitely Shows its worth

1    1/4/2015   1/8/2015
Review By: c_a_miller
Played: 203  Reviewed: 143  Exp: 4.9 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Being rated fourth in the State of Texas behind the two courses at Selah Ranch and Shawshank, this course had a lot of expectations to live up to, and it did just that. The course features two set of tees with big concrete pads. DisCatchers are the premier baskets in my opinion, and Circle C had 18 of them and were all in good shape.

The course had a huge variety of holes from short technical shots that throw up and down hills to long par 4s and par 5s. You can tell from playing the course that this is a Houck designed course because of the length of the course. Since it is a Houck designed course, there are fair landing zones off the tee on all of the longer holes. This is a course that will challenge you in every aspect from the first hole to the last hole.

I really enjoyed the holes 7-10. They were par 3s but all different. Hole 8 is a blind shot downhill, very challenging but if you can get it, it feels great. Hole 9 and 10 play up a hill and then back down it on the next hole.

Like mentioned in previous reviews, hole 18 is the premier hole on the course. It's a horeshoe type hole that ends throwing over a ravine. A four would be a great score on this hole.
Cons: Like most courses in Central, Texas, a little bit of rain can really make playing the course hard. The mud is they type of mud that cakes to the bottom of your shoes, making for slippery drives and muddy discs.

The transition from hole 12 to hole 13 is not obvious at all. This definitely was the worst of the few navigation problems that this course has.

When I went to play, it was in the 30s and rainy. The few locals mentioned that we got there at a good time, as on a nice day, you will have to wait on each hole because the course gets crowded since it is the premier course in the area.
Other Thoughts: This is a fantastic course that I enjoyed every second of playing, even if it was muddy. In my opinion, I do not feel this is the fourth best course in Texas. I think I have a preference of McClain Park in San Antonio over Circle C, but this really was a fantastic course.

This seems like one of those courses that gets easier and more fun to play the more you play it. You get to know the lines off the tee better and it becomes more enjoyable. I would play this course frequently if I lived in the Greater Austin area.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful, Well-Maintained

1    3/24/2014   5/28/2014
Review By: Michler
Played: 247  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 24.7 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: First-off, this course is extremely well-maintained down to the small details. It's in an enormous, multi-use park in what appeared to be a pretty nice suburb of Austin. There are 2 sets of generously sized cement tee-pads for all of the longer holes. The tees are nicely framed to prevent erosion. Walking paths are fairly easy to follow though the wooded portions of the course.

Approximately 50% of the course consists of reachable Par 3 holes that demand accurate shots through tight fairways. There are also several legitimate Par 4 and Par 5 holes that require both distance and placement. For the most part, I would describe these longer holes as fairly open, but still requiring a great deal of accuracy in your shot placement. There are plenty of trees and obstacles in play, but also room to work a variety of shot types. Both distance and accuracy are needed to score well.

Hole 18 is the signature hole!! Tight tee-shot to a wide open area. Then the approach to the pin is through a tunnel and over a ravine. Hole looks awesome and plays even better!!

The course is challenging, but also makes for a very fun round of golf. Not a lot of underbrush on the wooded holes, so losing discs is not much of an issue. Tee signs with the hole-maps are great!
Cons: As I was playing here for the first time, course routing was a bit of an issue in a couple spots. Some signage pointing to the next hole would be appreciated.

The terrain is a bit rocky in some areas, with Hole 1 probably being the worst. Not a big issue in my opinion, but perhaps worth mentioning as a few fairways are less than ideal.
Other Thoughts: Played without a map. Only got confused for any significant period of time in 1 spot. Would recommend bringing a map if playing blind though.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 On the Ranch

1    5/3/2014   5/8/2014
Review By: New013
Played: 150  Reviewed: 101  Exp: 6.7 Years
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Layout - Tons of variety in not only forcing you to use different shots but over varying lengths that go from short and technical to long bombs. I really liked how the course would give you a monster hole then a few shorter par 3's before sending you back to another fantastic par 4/5.

The strength of this course which has many is definitely the par 4/5's. Some of the absolute best holes I've ever played are on this course, not only from a technical standpoint but from a pure fun factor.

I really liked how the course sets up for varying skill levels. There are two pads on most holes and on the shorter par 3's the long pad doesn't usually add all that much distance but puts the pad in a place where your shot requires more skill going through an early gap or cutting an angle harder.

Also, on the long holes the obstacles range out for people of varying distances. The guy I played with had a shorter arm and was having to manage early gaps and turns while I was worrying about making a corner 400'+ and landing not in the super thick rough.

Adding on to that last part there is a good amount of risk/reward here. If you do try and stretch one out to far and get offline the rough is punishing and can force a lot of simple pitch outs. Trying to throw on to greens from distance is difficult here as well due to all the rocks and skips that can happen.

Really well designed green areas is another plus. It seems the basket was always tucked in a really nice spot to make you think about your approach or where you need to be to approach on the longer holes. I liked how in some places the basket would sit near the treeline in a place where you might easily skip in there if you're not careful how you're landing.

There's a bit of elevation change throughout the course, no big ups or downs but a few holes used it well to create difficulty.

I don't usually use this area of the review to mention holes but 18 is seriously amazing. Your drive requires power and accuracy and then from there on it's anybodies guess to how you'll play the hole. You can throw it up the shoot or try the big hyzer over the top. Wish I could play that hole all the time.

Equipment - Nice concrete pads that are framed in. Houck teesigns which in my opinion are some of the best. Baskets seemed in okay shape, not the best or worst.

There's practice baskets at the beginning along with a bathroom and water fountain.

Atmosphere - It's beautiful in it's own right. I haven't been to this part of the country a lot so I really enjoyed the Texas ranch vibe, felt like I was playing in a western movie.

The locals have done a nice job adding stonework to parts of the course to give it some character. I ended up meeting a local and getting a great guide for the round as well, everyone I met in Austin seemed to be really nice people.
Cons: Layout - Not to many cons really but some of the par 3's were a bit lacking in technicality and length. Overall the course isn't all that technical which isn't really a bad thing because it allows play from a wider variety of players; although if you come here looking for the ultimate challenge it isn't really that.

Some of the transitions were longer and I did have to stop and wait for my guide to show me where to go next. (although I'll add I wasn't paying attention to the next tee markers on the tee signs due to having a guide)

The course has some elevation but it's still relatively flat compared to some of the courses I play on the east coast.

Equipment - Some of the teesigns were missing when I was there.

Atmosphere - Even for a hot day the course was packed when I was there and I got stuck behind a big group which made the round even longer. You can not blame people for wanting to come here but keep that in mind if you want to come in and play from out of town.

It's dry and super rocky here, again not something I'm used to and you can only build on what you have so I don't blame the course at all. Just remember bring water and think twice before throwing base plastic here.
Other Thoughts: I love this course and it's clear most of the people in Austin do as well. If you want to play some true par 5's this course has them. I really wish I had just one course near me like Circle C.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Circle C

5+    12/28/2013   1/22/2014
Review By: lowrie4
Played: 35  Reviewed: 21
This review was updated on 3/10/2015
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Well maintained, wide variety of holes. Not only is the hole variation and design of the course great but the property it's set on is beautiful as well. Course is clean with plenty of benches, tee signs, and trash cans around. The alternate tees on this course is also a great feature. Playing from the red tees is a big difference from playing from blue, and the different experience is a wonderful feature of the course.
Cons: The navigation from hole 5 to 6 can be a bit tricky. If you have a really bad shot it is easy to lose a disc because most of the rough on the course is very dense.
Other Thoughts: Absolutely wonderful course, my favorite in Austin. Probably my favorite course overall. I recommend this course to all disc golfers that have played before. This is not an easy course to start with if you are unfamiliar with the sport.

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Best in Central Texas

5+    10/1/2013   10/18/2013
Review By: 4thechains@gmail.com
Played: 45  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 9.9 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is truly an amazing course - on the Pro/Advanced level of difficulty, this course will test all your shots and your will. Short and Long concrete tee boxes offer players of all skill levels an opportunity to compete. There are tee signs on every hole/tee. If you are looking for a challenge, you are at the right course. Stay in the fairway and you will be well on your way to a great time in ATX. This is one of the most challenging courses in Central Texas, next to Manor of course...
Cons: You may not want to throw your favorite plastic on this course. The rocky ground almost guarantees some level of carnage, so choose your shots wisely. Straying from the fairway will punish even the most adept players. My only real problem is the abusive amount of jagged rock, but that is just the terrain for ya.
Other Thoughts: Although it may be futile, everytime I play this course I kick or throw as many rocks as possible to the edge of the fairway. There have been some recent improvements in reference to several of the targets, I look forward to my next visit as I had to play the course without a few of the baskets in the ground. Still, always a treat to play Circle C. This course would get 5 stars for the quality of Tee Boxes, Signage, and Playability of the Course, however, the rocky fairways eat plastic.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.