Scottsdale, AZ 
Vista Del Camino Park Share
Uploaded By: bcr123psu Hole #11 (Taken 3/2011)
3 / 290ft.   3 / 375ft.   3 / 452ft.   3 / 460ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Tee Sign



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 50
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
1 2 3 4 5 Next >
 Water, Water Everywhere

5+    5/1/2008   1/16/2009
Review By: Texconsinite
Played: 138  Reviewed: 79  Exp: 9.2 Years
This review was updated on 1/20/2009
14 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There's a lot to like about this course. It is well maintained, with immaculate concrete tee pads, mowed grass, and kept clean (it IS in Scottsdale after all, the Beverly Hills of AZ)

Every tee has a detailed sign with a hole map that lists the multiple pin positions. Most holes have 3 or more pin positions, and the baskets are often moved between them, a few holes at a time. Thus, every round you play here is a little bit different.

The course is in a long thin valley with a stream running through the middle, and several lakes throughout. It roughly plays over one lake, down one side of the valley, crosses the water, then back down the other side to finish the loop. This layout, and relatively open nature of the holes, makes this a pretty FTF course, very easy to follow from one hole to the next.

This course has 2 shots that shoot over the sides of a bowtie-shaped lake to a peninsula in the middle(#1,#18), as well as two others (at the beginning of the back nine) that also force shots over the water. These make for an interesting challenge, and great risk-reward.

Also, water is somewhat in play on most holes on this course, lurking off to the side of the fairway, or behind the pin. Some courses have nasty shule waiting for you if you really shank a drive to the side or overshoot the pin by 40 ft. This park has water. I've personally gotten discs wet on over half the holes on this course.

Also, the long, thin shape of this park lends itself to disc golf holes, creating a boundary of water on one side, residential housing walls on the other. Due to this, the scattered trees on this course almost always affect your shot selection.

The pins are wonderfully placed, and most are well protected by at least one tree and/or a nearby water hazard.

No shot on this course is just plain vanilla, but the park is realtively open, giving players plenty of opportunities to air it out.

Holes are a little towards the long side, though all the shots over the water are manageable (with some accuracy) for even a modest arm.

Overall, this is not a very technical course. The main key is to keep out of the water. The trees give you a good margin of error to work around, and distance does come in handy.

Pretty fun course. There's a Sports Bar and Great Pro Shop (Spinners on the Green) by hole #13, for added convenience, and refreshments after the round.
Cons: Overall, this course is pretty flat. The only time terrain comes into play is on the four or so holes that play to or from the sloped sides of the valley, which is fairly steep and at least a 15ft change of elevation. Thus, hillside pins and rollaways happen as well, but are not as common.

Though the water holes will make your heart skip a beat, most of the holes are pretty simple, and just require distance to birdie. Scattered trees help keep you honest, but are fairly easy to dodge.

This course is easy enough to play with just one shot. In fact, a roller works perfectly on about 15 of the 18 holes, and is still viable on the other 3, provided it doesn't roll into the drink.

Overall, this course is constricted by its flat terrain, but despite this, is still interesting and fun. However, there are courses that are more of both in the area. Fountain Hills adds a significant amount of terrain and even more water shots, for added challenge. Mouer Park is a very technical desert course which will force a much wider variety of shots than this course ever could.

Don't get me wrong, I like this course, I just cannot justify rating it as highly as Mouer or Fountain Hills.
Other Thoughts: As previous reviews stated, it is advisable to park at Spinners on the Green by hole 13 and start there, since there is much more ample parking there. Also its nice to search the store and the lost-and-found bin before a round. You might get a disc back that went into the water, or find a good replacement for it.

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 The Arizona Standard

5+    12/21/2008   1/4/2009
Review By: ragajones
Played: 11  Reviewed: 11
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: As most people know, this course is the center of disc golf in Arizona. Good variety of shots. Good player support (Spinners staff is so friendly and helpful - Duke's nearby too) I am a disc junkie so it is cool to show up on Saturday morning and buy some new plastic to try before hitting the course.

I have found over the years that disc golfers in general are happier, kinder, more helpful and mellower than most people, This is certainly true with the crowd at Shelly and the staff at Spinners. The guys at Spinners seem to know who pays their bills, they are good folk and will usually toss in a mini or a bottle of water with a smile on their face. I can't afford lessons but they will always be quick to give you a few words on discs in their store.
Cons: I lost discs my first 4 out of 5 times on this course and almost always lose at least one. This is not so bad since probably half of my discs were eventually recovered.
Other Thoughts: There really isn't much negativity that can be said about this course - it just feels good to play it. Shelly has a high replay value. Best hole - #8 smooth RHBH hyzer with ace potential (someday) this hole is just cool. It feels so smooth to throw. I could replay this one hole again and again.

I am not a tournament player but this is the most active course for events I think. Do yourself a favor - park at Spinners and start on hole 12 instead of hole one. The parking is better - Spinners is like your own pro shop - and starting on 12 gives you 5 holes to warm up before the dreaded water shots of #18 and #1.
Buy a couple of "range balls" because chances are high you will leave a disc in the water -

Arizona's most popular DGC

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Kersplash

5+    2/12/2006   1/2/2009
Review By: ddevine
Played: 133  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 38 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The tourney layout has probably changed since I was last there, but I loved the combination of power and control. Rewards aggressive play and punishes stupid or timid play. The water can be brutal, especially in the wind.
Cons: Several of the holes are in that dreaded 375-400 foot range, so if you are hot you can rack up lots of deuces, but if you are not then its a struggle. Lots of traffic jams during the tournament due to packed layout.
Other Thoughts: The Memorial is one of my favorite tournaments.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 No Breaks

1    12/1/2008   12/2/2008
Review By: TalbotTrojan
Played: 112  Reviewed: 104  Exp: 8.6 Years
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is well maintained and in a very nice park. All the tees are very nice. All the holes provide a challenge. There is absolutely nothing that feels repeatative about this course. I was challenged in my game by leaps and bounds beyond what I thought I was getting myself into but enjoyed it very much.
Cons: There were some places on the course where it was difficult to figure out which pin was for which hole as two or three holes converged in a similar place. I also spent a while looking for hole 4 I believe with is accross the water and without a sign. There is going to be pedestrian traffic through this course just about all the time which makes a few shots interesting and the local schools use the park for things as well.
Other Thoughts: I was surprised at how few chances for birdie I had throughout the round. There are a few water holes to be aware of and the course does play tight as it makes its way through the narrow section of the park. These things are neither pro nor con on the course. This is definately an enjoyable round.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    4/27/2006   10/27/2008
Review By: robthepope
Played: 38  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 13.9 Years
3 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Located in nice neighborhood with good upkeep; very beautiful with all the water and hot girls exercising. There's a putting practice area. Convenient location for amenities like the Spinners and the bar and grill.
Cons: All the water hazards; as a novice player i didn't have a disc retriever and the guy there charges a finders fee.
Other Thoughts: This course has claimed two of my discs. I once took of my shoes and socks to wade in for my disc three times in one round (I heard that's against the rules). Not all of us can afford to keep losing discs.

3 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Check out the "19th hole"

4/11/2006   5/23/2008
Review By: Doktor John
Played: 415  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 28.2 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice water hazards
Well groomed
Good length on some of the holes
Multiple pin placements for nice variety
Sports Bar to quench your thirst after a hot round or two
Cons: Not alot of obstacles
Walkway runs right through the middle
Other Thoughts: Having the Sports Bar there is nice and the disc golf store is convenient
I've mentioned this on other reviews on some of the Phx park DG courses: the folks who designed these courses have really had a challenge due to the flatness and lack of vegetation...it speaks well of the DG community to put courses in to promote the sport, even when they don't have the optimal terrain

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 

5/17/2008   5/17/2008
Review By: Brody Cannon
Played: 28  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 9.8 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A long and challenging course that has many alternate pin placements so it's always different. The pressure from all the water in play will really cause an adrenaline rush as the disc is in the air. A decent variety of holes and good cement teepads. The disc golf store right next to the course is great!
Cons: Prepare to lose a couple discs, especially if it's windy.
Other Thoughts: I play this course everytime I visit family in Arizona. The wind is a really big factor in how well I play. My scores range from -7 on a nice calm day to +9 on a really windy day. I recommend making it an all day trip to the course. Shopping at Spinners, playing the course, and hanging out at Dukes to watch the game of the week is all part of a great experience.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Tougher than it looks

2-4    4/6/2008   4/15/2008
Review By: FoleyT
Played: 86  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 11.8 Years
This review was updated on 8/25/2008
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: variety of challenges, water comes into play on many of the holes around the beginning and end of each 9. multiple pin placements for each hole. grass fairways and little to no rough to contend with.
Cons: Lost discs are always a problem, bring a retriever of some sort. lots of pedestrian traffic to contend with (often stopping in front of you to admire water fowl)
Other Thoughts: disc shop located near the shopping center by the 12th hole with lots of 'used discs' to replenish your stock. they also keep a 'lost disc' database online for discs turned in that were found in the pond.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Shelly Sharpe Course

2-4    2/16/2008   3/26/2008
Review By: ERicJ
Played: 213  Reviewed: 153  Exp: 9.3 Years
This review was updated on 8/11/2008
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Four to six pin positions per hole with baskets that rotate through them (weekly?) keep the course interesting for repeat playings. Great holes with good challenges. Concrete tee boxes. Highly visible tee signs.
Cons:
Walking path along most holes leads to lots of pedestrian and bike traffic to contend with. Water in play on several holes will get some discs wet. Some tee signs seem outdated with respect to the current landscape.
Other Thoughts:
Spinners on the Green Disc Golf Store just off hole #12 will allow you to restock your lost discs. Site of "The Memorial" tournament.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 

3/4/2007   3/4/2008
Review By: martinyoung
Played: 221  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 13.8 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: a great setting for disc golf - middle of the desert - mountains all around - water 3 ponds spanning through the center of the course - variety of shots, great for rollers, site of the Memorial where the course is nearly doubled in length
Other Thoughts: bring a disc diver or some kind of disc retriving device you are gonna need it - most all of the local players carry a variety of underwater disc retrieving contraptions

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 4 5 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.