• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

[Help] Daredevil Discs: Fire Away

Blobfish

Double Eagle Member
Bronze level trusted reviewer
The pandemic brought a huge influx of players to the game, but it also saw major supply chain problems from some companies as well as the formation of many new disc brands.
As of this post, Infinite Discs has 57 Varieties of disc brands on their page:
depositphotos_172200082-stock-photo-london-uk-november-03-2017.jpg

Daredevil Discs isn't a new face around town, but few casual players (especially new ones) have heard of them, and few local stores carry their models. I hope to use this thread to explain some details about their discs.

What gives me the audacity to pose as a knowledge expert on this brand?

I'm not an expert, but I do exchange emails with the owners kind of regularly and they graciously answer my questions, which I will pass on to you here.

As many of you already know, Daredevil submitted different plastic/mould combinations for PDGA approval as unique discs. This is very different than all? other manufacturers. For example, you can get a buzzz in a wide assortment of plastics. With Daredevil, the disc is specific to the plastic. A timberwolf will always be a flex performance plastic.

Daredevil has 23 models of discs and they use nine moulds to make them:

Mould 1: Beaver, Owl

Mould 2: Woodchuck, Polar Bear, Bighorn

Mould 3: Grizzly, Moose

Mould 4: Caribou, Walrus, Pteranodon

Mould 5: Tmberwolf, Wolverine, Swift-fox

Mould 6: Sabertooth, Mammoth, Buffalo

Mould 7: Ogopogo

Mould 8: Albatross, Merlin, Gray Jay

Mould 9: Sasquatch, Yeti, Bigfoot​

Plastics:

Their discs are stamped with either "Elastic Performance", "Grip Performance", "Flex Performance", or "High Performance"