• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Lower Body/Hips Motion

Donkalicious

Hi everyone,

I've been pursuing 400+ distance for the past 4 years, and for as many times as I thought I had an "aha" moment that would be the one, I'm still struggling to even hit 350.

I've learned that words are not always the best way to convey this type of thing, but I'm hoping you all might be able to help.

As a preface, a few things I think "I know":

1. The arm (specifically from the elbow down) should be used as a hinge.
2. The arm (elbow up) should be at an angle not less than 90 degrees relative to your chest and is, for lack of a better word, kept locked in that position until late in the throw when your elbow has finished hinging.
3. "Reach back" is fine as long as it doesn't interfere with 1 & 2 above, but "pulling the lawnmower cable" is not part of proper form.
4. The torso is loaded/twisted so that it can be pulled/accelerated by the lower body.

The above points aren't the heart of my question, but if anything sounds wrong, I would appreciate corrections.

The legs down is where I think I'm struggling. When my core is loaded, I feel a strong connection between the motion of my hips and my torso (my torso is being pulled along by my lower body's movement). It feels smooth in practice, and until I actually try throwing a disc it seems like I should be getting good distance, but low 300's (driver) 240 ish (midrange/putter) is always where I'm at.

So here's my question, can those with big distance give a precise explanation of the motion of your lower body? I've seen all the drill videos, watched the pros on slow-mo over and over, but the visuals just aren't getting me anywhere.

To give a few examples, I have tried: