• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Up Shot Evolution

sidewinding

* Ace Member *
Gold level trusted reviewer
My approach game has evolved since I started playing. I started with drivers and would aim to the right to compensate for the hit and roll of the driver. My first midrange was a cobra and it would fly straight as an arrow for me and was great for up shots but the better my form got the flippier the cobra got. Then I bought a First Run Skeeter. I could not turn it over and it had almost no fade at the end. It was my go to for all approach shots for about 6 months. I made many 150'ish field aces with it. I lost it in a deep river and when I tried to replace it I could not find another Skeeter that would not turnover on me. I evolved to a Roc. Once I broke it in it was just like a Skeeter except I could throw it as hard as possible and it would not turn over. One day I was at a course and the only disc in my car was my daughters Pro Rhyno and I wanted to play really bad so I played the entire course with the rhyno. My eyes were opened that day to the fact that a stable putter is what you should approach with because they are straighter than the straigtest midrange. Soon after that I got a Wizard in a tournament players pack and discovered what an amazing disc it is. I have now tried every big bead stable putter and like them all for up shots under 200'.