• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

[Question] Aces - Short end of the stick?

Hoss22

Eagle Member
So I was just thinking this when reading through other posts...whenever I'm out on the course, at tournaments, and here on DGCR, there are constantly people talking about all the Aces they have had. Now, I have been playing for 4 years, and haven't had one Ace. I have made Eagles/Birdies from 250ft and in, but never the infamous Ace. I started thinking about this last season when someone on my card was constantly bragging about the "17" Aces that they have gotten, though they had only been playing for a year and a half. Then, in talking more and more with this person (who obviously thinks they are the greatest thing to happen to the game), I find out that all these Aces are on shots holes that are 150'-200'.....C'mon!

Now...this leads me to just blame my course and other nearby courses that I play most frequently. The courses I play have "pretty" long holes (Steilacoom, Seatac, White River)...there isn't opportunities to hit Aces at 200'.

What I'm getting at is first...do any of you feel jipped by not getting Aces because of the courses you play, weather you play in, or anything else you want to put blame on.

And second, for those of you that are getting, and/or seeing these Aces...are they typically happening on these 150' shots, or are you hitting Aces on 350' shots (which are typically the type I personally see that have a chance at running the basket).

I'm must just be complaining because I can't brag about my Aces :\ :wall:

I have only 3 aces in 11 years playing.

Getting aces is kind of an empty brag because of the amount of luck needed to get a disc to actually stick. They're fun when they do happen, but not getting aces is not the end of the world.