• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Cross-Step

fanter

Birdie Member
I was watching a video of Sandstrom giving some instruction in a gym. I obviously couldn't understand him but still found some helpful things by watching his motions. This, in combination with some ruminating on what's been causing my knee irritation got me on this topic.

I've been x-stepping for two years, but I haven't always considered just what each step does, how the x-step generates power, etc.

Here's the scenario. I have knee pain in my plant leg (left leg). I regularly have difficulty opening up the angle of my plant step, so typically it's a little more than 90 degrees from the target, which no doubt just BEGS for torque. Clumsily, after viewing this on video, I thought "take a wider step" or "just start opening the hips earlier." All this did was make me more clumsy, pull some shots wide, lose them early...general issues of inconsistency.

Presently I'm thinking not about that last step, but the step that leads into it- the cross step, where I take my right leg, pull it behind my body to aid in turning hips/torso/shoulders away from the target. That step points 180 from the target if not slightly more. I know that turning away from the target is beneficial for building tension, but THIS far? Maybe some people can make it work but I'm not convinced it's benefiting me (or the people I've introduced to the sport).

Practically, it creates a huge issue. It takes two steps to get the body appropriately oriented away from the target, but then to try and make that full turn in one step is out of my ability (or I haven't made enough sense of it to make it work).