• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Disc Golf as a Spectator Sport

Piqsid

How does disc golf work as a spectator sport?

I spent this past 4-day weekend at Cedar Lake, IN, which is half a mile from the Lemon Lake courses where the 2010 worlds will be held. I think it would be very interesting to watch pros navigate those courses. As a newbie, I think it would help my game to see repetitive throws by pros to give real life examples of what all these instructional YouTube videos are trying to give me.

But as I walked the courses this past weekend, there didn't seem to be much room for galleries and the like. And at most of the places I've played, there is barely enough parking for casual players, to say nothing of a fleet of pros and officials. Is disc golf considered to be a spectator sport? Do people go to watch?

Most of the spectators end up being friends, family, and players not in the final 9 so by the end of the tourney the crowd is pretty good.

You are always welcome to watch, just be quiet, still, and out of the way!

If you want to get close to the action find someone without a caddy and volunteer.

Or if you don't feel like walking with one card and prefer to stay put, you could volunteer as a spotter. Just bring a folding chair!

It's not much of a spectator sport. Few disc golfers, and virtually no non-disc-golfers, have shown much interest in watching....even at spectator-friendly courses.

The USDGC has probably done the best job of drawing an audience of non-participants. I've been in that gallery and it's pretty cool.

I'm a longtime, avid disc golfer, yet I've little desire to watch a tournament. I'd much rather be playing---in the tournament, or elsewhere.