• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Disc Golf Tournament advice

Barnyardie1

I am an officer of Buckhorn Ski Club (http://www.orgsites.com/ca/buckhorn/), a small non-profit ski area located in the San Gabriel Mountains about 38 miles up Angeles Crest Highway from La Canada, CA, just north of downtown Los Angeles. Last year I designed and built a disc golf course on the property. On Saturday, August 20 at noon we will be holding the first annual Buckhorn Disc Golf Tournament.

I am looking for specific advice on how to best promote this event.

So far, only a few friends and I have played the course, which has both regular and pro tees. My friends have complemented the unique layout of the mountain course and consider it quite challenging compared to other courses in Southern California. In designing and building the course, my goal was to reward good shots and penalize bad shots.

The tournament is free and the barbeque, etc. will be going all day and night. The winner's name will be engraved on a perpetual trophy, a mahogany disc, that will remain onsite.

Again, we would greatly appreciate any advice could you give to help make this a successful and well attended event. Thank you.