• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Forehand Wobble with Wraith

Peter

Hey, so I'm relatively new to the game (~2 mo) and just picked up a 175 star Wraith. I mostly drive forehand and with the Wraith, I'm getting quite a bit more initial wobble.

With other drivers that I've thrown (Sidewinder, Monarch, Teebird, Firebird, Flick; all in similar weights) I haven't had this problem. Any suggestions?

I believe that those other discs are a bit slower which if I am not incorrect. The issue is the faster the disc the more spin you have to put on it or it wobbles. So for now you may need to work with the other discs and in time you will be able to throw something like the wraith. Also, as a new player you should check out the discraft video on throwing forehand.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DOECjLjhiTI

My friend used to have a bomb of a forehand but started toying the RHBH now he has lost his forehand and gets the initial wobble like your saying when he tries to throw it. Forehand has always come naturally to me i can throw around 350 forehand and 350 RHBH but everytime I try to teach him how to throw sidearm it comes out wobbly. My adivse is work on release points and grip. In my opinion, if your not smooth enough with release thats where the wobble comes into play.

Once again thats just my opinion.

I throw RHFH as well and can't throw a 175 Wraith to save my life...but a 170 Wraith is the best disc in my bag. Stick w/ the Wraith, but just go lighter.

I have been playing for two years and all my Wraiths are under 173. My two DXs are 165 and 161.

The 161 is awesome. Its nice and broken in and thrown with just a little hyzer, it flies straight as an a arrow 300ft.