• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

How rare are Aces on Disc Golf?

toddy74

Been between a 2-5 handicap on ball golf for 20+ years and never had an ace. I've been watching videos on line and noticed this guy Cubby had like 400+ and some recorded. As I am brand new to this game is an Ace something the average player might get once a year? more rare? less rare?

I've seen the thought that a regular player should have an ace once every three years. They are definitely more common in Disc golf.

Cubby has 400+ aces because he throws multiple shots at each basket.

Been between a 2-5 handicap on ball golf for 20+ years and never had an ace. I've been watching videos on line and noticed this guy Cubby had like 400+ and some recorded. As I am brand new to this game is an Ace something the average player might get once a year? more rare? less rare?

Because disc golf courses vary so much, chances of aces vary. If you play a course with a lot of 200' holes, you'll likely end up with aces. If all the holes are more than 400', you may never.

If you stand on the tee of a short hole and throw 20 shots at a time, and want to call the one that goes in an ace, you may accumulate a bunch of them.

But yes, on average, aces are much easier to get in disc golf. An average player on an average course will get some.

I believe your home course has a large role in it to. How difficult or easy the shorter holes are makes a difference. If the course is a small 9 hole and you only take a putter and mid most of the time your odds are much greater than if you're playing a champion course.

That being said, I've never hit metal on my home course but hit a laser on a course I seldom play that's much further out than my home course holes.