• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

[Recommend] OS Driving Putter

GoobyPls

Double Eagle Member
Bronze level trusted reviewer
I lost my last KC Aviar today and now don't have anything in the somewhat-overstable, straight-to-fade driving putter slot. I've had a KC Aviar in my bag since I started playing, but I was never in love with the bead and I'm open to trying something else for that role. As always, I'm manufacturer-agnostic. Right now I'm leaning toward checking out an Envy. Also open to just getting another KC Aviar.

Well if you liked the KC but not the bead the obvious answer is a P2.

Sent from my VS988 using Tapatalk

Yeah give the Envy a try. I would definitely need a stable and normal speed putter as well for straight/turnover/touch shots, but the Envy is so HSS and tolerant to wind within reason. For normal putter depth P2 is a great suggestion too.

I would say a premium plastic P2 or Marshal. S-Line and Lucid are both very nice straight-to-fade throwing putters.

The Envy is a good suggestion, and another suggestion for a shallow approach disc is the new Tomb from Infinite Discs. Very accurate disc.

Yes, the P2 is a good beadless disc in the overall Aviar vein. If you try and like the P2, stock up n them when you can, as sometimes there are waits to get in new batches...

You hit the hypothetical nail on the head with the hypothetical hammer.

Get an Envy. They come in all premiums and a pro/DX plastic with different firmness'. I'd suggest N or P to keep that reliable flight for a long time, or E (firm, although it's not going to be KC firm) if you want to cycle it. Shallow/comfortable feel, but not too shallow. Just fits the hand really well. I always found P2s, et al, to feel way too deep. Messed with my release point. Haven't left the Envy since I got one.