• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Plant knee problems?

Rob Mc

I've been playing competitively for about three years now on a bad left knee (replaced ACL, removed meniscus), but as a RHBH-dominant thrower, I haven't had any issues with it. However, I planted weirdly at my last tournament (a soupy, muddy, joke of a day) and my right knee has been feeling weak since. I didn't play for the rest of that week until Friday, but it still felt weird.

Any suggestions for alleviating knee problems other than "Just go for it! If it tears, get surgery and go for it again!"? Form or footwork suggestions?

I've been playing competitively for about three years now on a bad left knee (replaced ACL, removed meniscus), but as a RHBH-dominant thrower, I haven't had any issues with it. However, I planted weirdly at my last tournament (a soupy, muddy, joke of a day) and my right knee has been feeling weak since. I didn't play for the rest of that week until Friday, but it still felt weird.

Any suggestions for alleviating knee problems other than "Just go for it! If it tears, get surgery and go for it again!"? Form or footwork suggestions?

Make sure to follow through and rotate properly. The biggest potential for injury is if you're trying to put the brakes on and end up torquing in weird ways.

If it is sore, take some time off and make sure to ice it and take ibuprofen.

Yeah check your form and balance. If it was just a slip from mud or what not there's not much you can do to fix that other than throw from a standstill or very slow pace in that situation. Slowing down and also a knee brace would be a good idea if you aren't going to rest.