• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

What are the benefits of building a disc golf course?

chris deitzel

Double Eagle Member
Gold level trusted reviewer
I have been building a disc golf course at Linbrook Park for the last 2 years. The baskets for the front 9 have been in since June.

Well, since then, the borough has decided to stop the construction of the course. Apparently it was not presented to council properly and they now want to have us present our proposal for the course.........(I'll spare you the long details)

Anyway, in the presentation they want to know" What are the benefits of a disc golf course"?

So, I am here to get some answers and opinions to help me present my case.

Post away please.

Good way to stay active, it's cheap, it's pretty good for a fully family, it's cheap to maintain, it can be on multi use parks. If it's in an area that has a lot of traffic you can charge to play. etc etc...

Increased foot traffic leads to higher visibility. I.e. as long as you don't fill the course with chuckers, you'll see lower crime rates. Example: Mt. Airy park in Cincinnati.

I don't remember the titles, but there have been some other threads like this with some good support material offered. Use the search feature and see if you can hunt them down. I think Davidsauls had some good info in one of those threads. Good luck.

It generally uses parts of the park that otherwise would go unused.
Local club volunteers often put in time to help with maintenance (how many soccer and baseball teams would do the same?)
It's an activity that is good exercise and low impact enough to be good for all ages, from children to senior citizens.

While creating a disc golf course you can clear away non native - invasive species of flaura that harm or rob natural trees of nutrients.