• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

43 year old noob - how's my progress?

Judson100

I'm just trying to get a sense of people's opinions of where I am at, as I am okay with my progress so far (from total beginner two months ago) except for frustration with distance and consistency on my attempts at longer drives.

Back story: Age 43, I have suddenly discovered this sport after not really knowing anything about it (my son's WII sport video game was the first time I had ever seen disc golf since I was a boy scout in the 80's and there was a frisbee golf course at a state park with tires hanging from trees for "holes".) I started disc golfing about two months ago with a vengeance as I lacked an activity to "get away from it all" and it all just fell into place as there is a spectacular course (Fredtoften in Denmark) about two minutes drive from my house and I had picked up a few discs on a whim on a trip last year to the states. The only other experience I had was a hilarious first attempt at a state park in Arkansas last year. The three discs I had picked out (it was at a store with no experienced personnel) were just about the worst possible combination for a newbie - a pro Pig putter, which is the most non-gliding, hardest fading thing in the world (but now highly appreciated for rollers and getting out of trouble in the woods!), a champion eagle - likewise hard fading, and a pro Beast. Safe to say, I was making endless tacos in the woodsy course that was my first disc golf experience - I think I shot a 96 on a par 55 or something like that.

Back to the present:
Here's where I'm at - RHBH only, I have no forehand yet: