• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Anyone else have a problem with people throwing your disc back at you?

gdcurry

I'm new to the sport, but the very first time I played was at a new park with a new course and almost every time I threw someone near my lie would pick up my disc and throw it back to me. I tried to tell them, "No, no, leave it there please." But to no avail. I live in a largely Hispanic area and they might not have understood me, but I thought "No" was the same in Spanish.

Anyway, wondering if anyone else has seen this problem before.

Doug Curry
Houston, TX

One time I was playing and there was a group of Hispanic people playing soccer 75 feet from and off to the right of 18's basket, I grip locked it and it was heading their way. I yelled "quatro", not sure if that translates into look out or not.

Ha! This happened to us the other night.

We went to Lenora for our friday weekly and on 11 which has a field between it's tee, 13s basket, 16s basket, and 17s tee there was a large group of Mexicans playing soccer. There were two women sitting on the tee of 11 to which we ignored and tee'd off...which apparently annoyed them...

Funny thing is there is a second entrance that goes to the aquatic center and there is an absolutely enormous, flat field there...

EDIT:

I wonder how many were scratching their heads wondering why some gringo was yelling numbers at them.

Sure, it has occured many times over the years.

I have seen it handled in a couple of different manners... sometimes the entire card screams at the offending nooby.

Other times, a whistle and some hand signals did the trick... and even other experiences-- the parent seemed to understand what had happened and instructed their kid to toss it back where he found it.