• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Basket comparison DB-5 vs. Westside Black vs Mach Lite

KGroff25

Birdie Member
I've been reading through the different basket threads, but I could use a some personalized advice.

I've been using my uncle's Innova Traveler for 2 months on loan and got spoiled by having something to practice on daily, but he's finally taking it back. I liked the portability of it and got used to setting it up and taking it down quickly whenever I wanted to practice. I even took it to the beach and had a great time playing horse on it. However, I'm not a big fan of how unnatural it looks, the fact that putts with velocity that don't hit dead on won't stick, and that high putts drop in that would normally be rejected. Overall the ability to practice helped my putting, but I believe I actually lost some velocity and use my legs less on my putts because I got used to slowing down to make them catch on the Traveler.

Moving forward I want something that I can at least move around the yard easily so it doesn't become a focal point of the yard (for the consideration of roommates, girlfriend, etc.) Additionally, I'm still at the age where I move about once a year and could end up in an apartment in the next couple years. So if I can quickly break it down and put it in the garage daily that's a big bonus. However, I really want something that I can confidently run putts at with a little more velocity. As far as price range I want to stay around $150.

Looking around I was getting pretty set on either a Mach Lite or Westside Black Basket. However, I found someone local that will sell me a near new Lightning DB-5 for $150 and throw in a free disc.