• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Beginner trying to learn better form

icorey

I started playing disc golf back in June and I started off throwing RHFH. I've become really interested in the sport and I've been trying to throw better, but I'm too inconsitent FH, so I started trying to throw RHBH. Until now, I've been trying to lead with my arm and just keep my shoulders level and I could get around 220'-250' for a drive.

I've been watching more videos and trying to emulate what I see in these videos.
  1. I'm trying to start off with my arm back and facing away from where I'm throwing. My fingers are on the rim of the disc, thumb on top, and my wrist starts straight, not bent.
  2. Then I try to lead with my hips and let my body's rotation pull my arm through.
  3. I try to keep my disc close to my chest
  4. I release ... well, I'm not sure, I release when it feels right. Maybe with the disc a foot and a half in front of my chest and a little to my left?
  5. I try to finish with my weight on my front/right foot and then follow through so I have to take another step with my left foot.
  6. I'm trying to throw while standing still for now.

I started off doing okay. I noticed that most of my throws were going high, so I started trying to throw down a little and I was doing better, pretty straight and about 240'. I then tried adding a run-up but every disc went really short, very high, and to the left. I went back to standing still and about twenty discs in a row went about 150' and then hard to the left.