• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Brand new, 1st timer

Chucker60

Birdie Member
New to the game, went to a local course for the 1st time ever. Someone gifted me a couple discs several years ago but i never went to play until today. I only had time to play 5 holes; had some good throws for a total beginner (i think) and some definitely not good throws. All 5 holes were pretty short par 3's and i scored 25 (+10) using only an old Aviar putter. I'm planning to go back and try it again when i have more time to play at least 9 holes.

I was able to get out for a little practice today, 2nd time ever on a DG course. Played a few holes trying to get used to throwing a disc, winds were very strong - a steady 20-25 mph. I managed to set a personal best throw on one hole off the tee (135') and made the longest putt for me so far (18') on another hole. I played 9 holes total but i was just skipping around to empty holes because i didn't want to bother any of the real players out there; pretty sure the last thing they want is some newbie to get in their way and screw them up. For the 9 holes I scored +11(39) on par 28 course, which is not too bad for an absolute beginner, right? Thoughts?

...I played 9 holes total but i was just skipping around to empty holes because i didn't want to bother any of the real players out there; pretty sure the last thing they want is some newbie to get in their way and screw them up.

The respectful action is to let faster players play through if they catch you, but you have just as much right to be on that course as anyone else.

Welcome to the addiction! :thmbup: