• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Played my 1st ever round today

Chucker60

Birdie Member
Before today I had only played 4 or 6 or 9 holes at a time on about 3 different occasions for practice; finally decided to play a full 18 to see how I could do. Took advantage of some free time and now my first ever round is done. I played a Par 54 course that's 5100 ft; mostly wooded, wind was about 20 mph. My score was 81(+27) which I think is fairly decent for a total novice (my guesstimate is my round would be rated about 550). Started off poorly with double/triple/triple on my 1st three holes, played better after that and even made 2 pars. Really struggled on into the wind holes; threw my best tee shot 165' and it lead to my 1st ever par - totally fired me up.
Interested to hear thoughts from others that are actually good, experienced players on my score, etc. Thanks.

Welcome to the sport! May I recommend not getting caught up in disc numbers and brands… just throw. Work on form (as you realize there are inadequacies). Those early career pars are why we came back! The wind is a struggle for pros and novices alike, so you're in good company.

I mean I'm not good, but I've been around.

Struggling into the wind is the human condition, so no big deal there. A couple of pars is good, it shows you that you can get there. The score isn't so much important if you had those shots that made your heart pump and have you wanting to throw again.