• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

First form review: plateau from injury

gedge2

Looking forward to some feedback on my current form!

A little background: I have been playing seriously for 3 years. In my initial form, I struggled with a sway/lean backwards during the backswing and a horse-stance finish. I worked hard on getting my weight more centered and closing off my front foot/hip and progressed up to 380' average max with my wraiths and a couple of 420' pops when I got good snap.

About 6 months ago, I was tweaking things with posture and elbow angle in the forward swing to try to get over the 400' barrier. I ended up developing a nasty case of tennis elbow that kept me from throwing for about 4-5 months. I am currently re-building my form to try and get cleaner and protect my elbow.

I got a tripod and started filming slow-mo and noticed that in trying to keep my weight centered, I had developed a pretty nasty dip with the front shoulder that resulted in my hand rising up above my elbow significantly in the initiation of the forward swing. I believe the compensations required to get the nose down from this motion was probably the root cause of my elbow injury. I'm working on shifting from behind and hershyzer right now to help the elbow dip, but I seem to be stuck. I'm getting about 350' on my max throws right now after rebuilding up some distance.

Current goals: protect my elbow with cleaner form. Side bonus: If i could crack 400', that would be super cool as its been a goal of mine for the last 3 years.

Side view: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7zjh8_E2Sfk

Down the line (I can't get this not to format as a "short"): https://www.youtube.com/shorts/oJbbyZo9UMM

Sorry for the weird lighting in my garage! Thanks in advance!