• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

First Tournament Experience

Zanguini

Birdie Member
First Tournament Experience
Last weekend I competed in my first tournament. So, I would like to take a few moments to describe what how I prepared, what went on, how I did, and some thoughts I had on the tournament. I would also like to read about some others first time tournament experiences so feel free to post about your own experiences too.
Preparation.

I have been playing for about 9 months now. I am a novice but over time I have gained some knowledge I cannot throw far, but I do at least hit a what distance I can achieve consistently (250-300). At my home course I generally pick up a + 7 or so and have for the past few months sometimes higher sometimes lower. So, I felt that it was about time that I tested my self in a tournament. I played in the Vintage Open an newly hatched A-Tier in Arkansas. In preparation I played the course the tournament was supposed to take place for Ams at as often as I could, which ended up being once or twice a week. I also went on YouTube to find some instructional videos about what happens on tournament days. About 2 weeks before tourney day the location of the tournament was changed to my normal home course, so all the prep work I had laid at the other course I thought had been wasted. But extra rounds cannot ever be a waste as I did learn a few things during the time. On YouTube most instruction about tournaments is about mental preparation and strategy. I only found one that was about the mechanics of a tournament from Danny Lindahl(https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CoCbzD6Vb20&t=26s).

The Tourney and Environs