• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Greetings from the 304...

Otherwise known as Almost Heaven.

I'm a Hokie at heart but take pride in the 304...even though it gets bashed constantly, and sometimes, deservingly so.

I'm a middle aged total newb to the disc slinging golf game but once had a really good club swinging golf game. I participate in tons of other gamery such as, well, golf, pickleball, tennis, bowling, mountain bike riding, road bike riding, hunting, fishing, eating and enjoying great bourbon and fine cigars.

Seeing a gentleman playing disc golf on the beach this past summer peaked my interest in the game. Then, I noticed a disc golf course at the local college which, upon further investigation, was designed by a gentleman that is/was a member on this forum. Never met him though. He has also designed two or three other courses within a short drive of my house.

As of now, I have never played this game but have purchased several discs through various websites after lots of studying. Also, I bought a disc basket that will get lots of practice in both my backyard and at the inlaws 67 acre farm...been thinking mightily about using said basket and creating a few rough practice holes...it has some nice wide trails through the wooded part of it that would make for some awesome fun.

Anyway, that's my disc golf experience to this point.

Personally, I've been married to a wonderful woman for the past 13.5 years. We don't have any human children but we have a cat and a dog that we treat as our kids, without the tax exemptions, of course.

Just thought I'd give you folks a brief rundown of me and who I am...

Welcome. I'm middle aged and new myself - started at the beginning of last year. You really jumped all in grabbing a basket before even playing a round, huh?