• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

[Recommend] Massive thread containing every possible 3-disc combination for your review

tlandegent

Hey all,

I'm definitely an amateur in disc, so I've been experimenting with different discs, weights, and working on my throws.
I'd like to learn 3 discs really well (for cost's sake) - a distance, midrange, and putter
I'd also like to do basic throws with this selection (I'm leaving out tomahawks, rollers, thumbers, etc)

Here's my current lineup:
174 Avenger
170 Polecat
156 Wolf

With my Avenger, I'm currently throwing 250 accurately, maxing at 320 or so.
I'm still learning the Wolf, I've not thrown a midrange before
My Polecat, though heavy, throws very straight.

My big question is if I should be using lighter/heavier weights for my discs or if I should scrap any in this lineup?

Again, I'm more or less a beginner on a limited budget. I'm looking forward to your input!

besides the avenger those look like great discs to learn on. but i hate the avenger. 320ft with an avenger is really good d for beginner. any chance u throw forehand? if so try out an avenger ss or something else understable like a valk to help u learn driving backhand. if u really can throw that avenger 320 backhand then keep ur current line-up. but it still wont hurt to add something understable to learn how to throw right hooking drives.

I would find a heavier mid-range. When most people pull out a mid-range, they pull it out for accuracy, and a 156 disc is not going to be accurate in any sort of wind. I'd grab a heavier mid-range if you just want to stick with 3 discs you can use all of the time.