• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Maxing out 230ft - what to work on next?

nashie

First summer practicing with more thought. Throwing ~230ft (70m) consistently but not really improving. Only throwing from a stand-still for now.

The following clip shows two angles. Note that these two clips are from different throws but both shots are maxed-out 230ft throws. The disc in these clips is a Star Leopard if that means anything. Anything faster than that does not fly reliably for me yet.

What should I focus on next? All tips are appreciated!

Check the video here

My son and nephew are doing about same form and distance as you. I am a beginner - struggling now to get past 200 feet, so my advice is not worth much…. But, if you have your technique down - it has become consistent - maybe start to add one step, or walking (slow) x-step? Also, I had a Leopard Star, and I know the best answer is improve form/technique, but I got a Latitude 64 Diamond Retro Burst, and it immediately became my favorite disc. I threw it further and better than Leopard Star and Leopard3 on day one, and have since got 5 more Diamonds so I can practice with them more and have extras if I lose them. A little faster (8), with more glide (6), but a beginner friendly disc - you don't need arm speed 8 to make it fly well. I am not good enough to advise on your form, but others here are, and will. Anxious myself to see what they say.

First summer practicing with more thought. Throwing ~230ft (70m) consistently but not really improving. Only throwing from a stand-still for now.