• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Newbie questions about snap

JacksWeather

Bogey Member
Firstly, I'd like to say I am a major newb to Disc Golf, but I feel this site has done a really good job of introducing technique to me, through the instructions on the site and also this technique forum. I've been trying to improve my drive for about a week now and basically come back to this page right after I go out and consistently throw anywhere in the 200's.

My biggest questions are regarding to snap. I read that the tendon bounce in the fingers is different than slinging the disc with your fingers. This fact makes me not understand bounce at all. Can you please explain/elborate on the difference between bounce and slinging the disc?

Also I'm confused about the tightening of the grip for the snap. How I'm thinking of it right now, is when you are using a power grip, your four fingers are curled around the edge of the frisbee so that the pads of your fingers are touching the inside of the rim of the edge, and the tips of your fingers are touching but not gripping the bottom of the disc. Is this a correct understanding of the power grip? If it is, I don't understand how a disc is going to come out of your hand if you tighten your grip...I feel really stupid for asking this question. But it seems like if you tighten the grip, that means you aren't letting go of the disc which will result in the disc not coming out of your grip. Is the disc going to just "rip" out since I'm theoretically throwing it so hard? Should my fingers be gripping the bottom of the rim more than the inside part of it?