• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Returning after 20 years

Left2Right

I started playing disc golf back in the early 90's. Back in those days we bought our disc from a guy selling Innova plastic out of the trunk of his car. There was no e-commerce back then. Looking back, it must have appeared "sketchy" to have a bunch of guys gathered around a car with cash in their hands. I pretty much played the same disc for 10 years and only replaced them when they either cracked or turned over too quickly. My preference was an Innova Cobra off the tee, a Shark and XD for approaches. An Aviar was my putter of choice.
With those disc, I could shoot well under par at the local course. The early courses I played were much shorter than the courses of today. If you could drive 200 feet and were accurate with your approach shots then par wasn't hard to get. Thinking back my form wasn't all that great. I tended to round my pull through which limited my distance off the tee but I was pretty good with my second shot and didn't put much pressure on my putting. I came from the frisbee throwing tradition. I always found the anhyzer gave me the most control and accuracy. Thus the user name Left2Right.
I managed to win a few amateur titles in South Carolina in the mid 1990's. A few years ago I went to a course in Augusta, Georgia to see how rusty my game had become. Some young fellows saw me practicing my putting and asked if I cared to join them for a round. I agreed and at the first tee they looked in my bag and asked if I was really going to play with these disc? I said of course what else would I use? They said "Dude, those things are collectors items!" They proceeded to show me the new plastic they were throwing. Things sure have changed! The game has come a long way from the early days.