• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Shoe Advice?

TheBeardedFatGuy

Birdie Member
I'm 48 and my right (pivot) knee has begun to act up. First it was a twinge when going down stairs (never up), then it really started aching. I know, I know, I should get to the doctor. In any case, this has me thinking a lot about what my pivot leg and foot are or aren't doing. I know it's considered best to not have the knee bent and pivot on the heel and not the ball of the foot, and I'm trying hard to do that (oh good, one more thing to focus on and make my throw go wonky). I'm wondering if anyone has some advice on shoes. When I started playing I usually wore sandals, but a couple times having a stick ram into my toes put an end to that. I now wear a low hiking shoe (not a boot) with good traction. I know there are shoes specifically for disc golf, though I have some doubts about them. Has anyone ever come up with a shoe that the pivot foot could have a 'bump' pop out to make an easy pivot point? Something like those shoes with the hidden wheels, but that just pops a bump out of the heel that can be retracted for regular walking would be nice. Barring that, what have y'all learned about footwear in your time playing?