• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Special/Fundraiser Discs - Do you throw them?

Justin Daniel

I am new to the sport, and have picked up a couple "special" discs (limited run, fundraiser discs, etc. but nothing crazy rare or expensive). The last thing I need is another collection so I intend on eventually throwing them all. Any differing opinions or ideas on the topic of throwing vs bagging or hanging? I guess I just want to know if others throw these special discs or if I am making a mistake.

Just throw the discs you want to throw. If it's a limited run, buy a handful of backups so you don't have to pay the premium to replace your thrower when you lose it/wear it out down the line. The collector market is too fickle to worry about it.

I throw everything I have. I'm not into collecting discs. I enjoy having weird stamps, etc... in my bag so I throw it all.

I only have one CFR disc that I will never throw which is an Innova Star Gremlin from the 2006 Charleston Classic with an image of Hampton Park on it. I have tons of others that I would throw should I lose the same mold but they just sit in boxes although I try to sell most all of my players packs as I have way too many backups for now. When I started playing sanctioned tournaments in 2006, you generally received an Innova cotton t-shirt or sweatshirt with the event logo somewhere but over the years it seems you only get discs which I do not need or have even heard of. I just recently put a Salient Antidote in the bag which is the first new mold I have added since 2008 I think since I generally throw Rocs, Comets, Aviars, Wraiths and Leopards

NO mistake at all. Like any collector business they go up & down.