• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

What distances for intermediate players?

northshoremb

I just started playing month ago since we got a par 3 course made here in town. Ive never played disc golf prior to this and cant wait to get a par 4 course down the line. Ok ill start off by saying im 38 year old male 250# at 6'1". Im usually in the top percentage at all sports i do like Golf, Archery, Bowling, Baseball, Billiards and strive to master every new sport i start so i have been watching hours of videos from Ricky and others on technique. So right off the get go i went to Innovas site and bought almost 30 Discs from their seconds store to save money and try them all out at the football field to see what dkes what and what works for my throw speed as of now.
Our course has mostly all 184-280 foot holes as its a 12 hole par 3 course. I on avg shoot -3 for 12 holes and best are -5/-6. I have been throwing my 172gr Leopard on all the holes to get use to adjusting power and putt with a Aviar Big Bead.

My Aviar putter i can throw roughly 200 foot BH and 172gr Leopard (speed 6) max is usually 250. I have shot the odd 290-300 with a TL3 which is (speed 8).

I hear people say you arnt shooting to your potential until you can constantly shoot a putter speed 2 up to 300 foot. Do most guys there first year my size has no problem getting 300 foot with a putter? I find if i go gor that extra hard throw i cant let go in time and pull disc hard to the right on RHBH.

Sent from my LG-H873 using Tapatalk