• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Why don't more women play disc golf?

scarpfish

Resident Grouch
Gold level trusted reviewer
Considering its a relatively non-intensive sport, its really been a question perplexing me since I started playing six years ago. Most of the females I do see out there are playing because their male relatives, or significant other got them involved. Sure would be nice to get the gender imbalance on the courses a little more equalized.

Any theories? :confused:

Like, some women in society today would, like, not be caught dead, like, sweating and potentially breaking a fingernail. Like oh my God. There is a sale at the Mall, are you kidding?

Not sure about the others. Perhaps because many disc golfers are pudgy pasty balding white dudes who will take off their shirt in public?

:^p

Same reason there are more men sitting in front of the TV on a Sunday in the Fall. Sports and competition is just in the male genetic code.

Yes, there are exceptions to this rule, and there are women out on the disc golf course, and men at the mall eying a pair of shoes, but you just have to accept that there will always be an imbalance.

We have seen quite a few women disc golfing in the Atlanta area, but yeah, not to the extent you see guys and they are always with a group of guys too...never seen an all girl squad hitting the course.

My wife is really into the game (she has even told me that she dreams about it) but you would never catch her hanging out on a forum...just not her thing. I came up with my forum name about 6 years ago for a racing forum (we are sports car road racing fans) in hopes she would participate because she loves that too...she never got into it and the name has kinda stuck with me because it is easy to remember having one name on many forums.