• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Why would you want to be sponsored?

The woe-is-me tale that I chose, and with no regrets, is that I am married with three children. We live off of my income only because my wife decided to stay at home to be available for our autistic children. I am a teacher, so that says right there how little money we make.

How that comes back to the farfetched dream of being sponsored, even if on a part-time basis, is that when I am off from teaching, it would be wonderful to see more of the country. Ideally, throw me an RV, cover gas and give us a food allowance and I would be happy to pay for tournaments and leagues. If I need to be an on-the-spot salesman as well as a highly visible player, no problem.

One time we came into a little money, we took a family vacation for our daughter's graduation. From Minnesota to Arizona - that was a big deal for us even though it was a mad dash to the Grand Canyon and an even madder dash back home. The scenery from Texas to Arizona back up through Colorado is something I will never forget. We got a lot of trees and lakes in Minnesota, but that is about it (although do not get me wrong, my ideal winning the lottery fantasy is purchasing several thousand acres way up north). I was able to sneak several rounds on that trip and it was a blast playing new courses. Fond memories.

Conveniently our vacation was planned the same weekend the Disc Golf Experience was at Arrowhead Stadium. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bkle74sgLfY&t=131s