• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

[Question] Best plastic for Texas heat?

DStar

I'm very new to the sport and am trying out different plastics. Correct me if I'm wrong but it seems the heat tends to make discs understable. That being said it seems like champ/z/opto/lucid plastics would be my best bet. I really like the feel of my ion proton putter but it gets sweaty almost immediately when I go outside. I have a roc and buzzz in base plastic and they get kind of gummy as well (not too bad, they are brand new). Should I throw my base plastic now in the summer and throw champish plastic in the winter or vise versa?

Last edited:
I have thrown Innova DX, Pro, Star, G-Star, Champ and Discraft Elite X, Elite Z, Cryztal FLX and Ti in the Texas heat and never noticed a down side to any of them. My G-Star Teebird languishing in the sunshine was quite soft when I approached it after my tee shot, but I wasn't throwing it on my approach so it wasn't an issue.

I think most of our northern brethren throw DX in winter for better grip and to keep from shattering their priceless CE, but I throw the same discs regardless of temperature.

I have similar issues here in GA, Star/G* type plastics tend to get almost sticky and Pro/DX can get floppy.

The one issue I have with the translucent plastics if the land on top of grass or anything with moisture it will create a greenhouse affect and get a ton of condensation on the flight plate.

I like those and actually the BT base plastic and the stiffer Gateway base plastics don't get that floppy either.

For me its Premium plastic in the summer, Base or FLX Glow plastic in the winter.
But we don't have Texas type heat here.