• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Can someone help break down Calvin Heimburg's putt

genefish

I'm a beginner experimenting with different putting styles (and figuring out what I like).

I am a similar body type (plus a few lbs) to Calvin Heimburg and am trying to emulate him. I can't find any videos or text to break his form down and I'm sure I'm missing a lot.

Would love it if some more experienced posters helped break it down.

Especially interested in his weight transfer (looks minimal to me), how he spins the disc, the purpose of his long down swing...and well any other insight.

Thank you!!

You should watch videos on putting. Walk before you run. I get why you want to emulate Calvin, but I don't think you can understand what he's doing without a foundation.

Key terms push putt, spin putt, and spush (hybrid spin push) putt.

I'm still new (1 yrplaying), but I know that the learning curve is exponential.

I like Barsby as a putting style early on. Soft and floaty. Developing a nice layup that doesn't leave a nasty tester is a solid approach to putting IMO.

Also, get a basket, 5-10(+) same or similar putters and practice the motion and particularly the release. You want your putting motion to be automatic within a certain range. I played a lot of basketball as a kid, and think of it like a free throw. For me, that changes at about 20'+, but I'm working it.

IMO there is nothing wrong with throwing countless times at 10-15' to "perfect" that range.

I know, it's fascinating, right? He generates so much power with really minimal movement.