• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

How hot is too hot?

Mrcpa

Bogey Member
Okay so I am severally allergic to poison ivy. That being said, I played a course yesterday that was nothing but.... So I kind of freaked out and a little ocd kicked in so I literally washed all my discs and my bag in my utility tub. I am fairly new to disc golf so I'm not sure if I used too hot of water. I just turned on my hot water from the tub and scrubbed em clean... Do you think this could be too hot or do you have to pretty much boil them to cause damage?

Look on the internet and search for urushiol oil, this is what people are allergic to. It's not the hot water that will remove the oil from your disc but a detergent recommended by others to clean it off of hard surfaces.

Look on the internet and search for urushiol oil, this is what people are allergic to. It's not the hot water that will remove the oil from your disc but a detergent recommended by others to clean it off of hard surfaces.

I used dish soap detergent. I just need to know how hot of water is too hot and will damage this discs.

The plastic won't melt at boiling, but it will soften. If you do put your discs in hot water be sure they cool on a flat surface with the flight plate up -- you could even put them in your fridge.

For common commercial grades of medium- and high-density polyethylene the melting point is typically in the range 120 to 180 °C (248 to 356 °F).
The melting point for average, commercial, low-density polyethylene is typically 105 to 115 °C (221 to 239 °F).

Highly doubtful your hot water heater gets up over 200 °F and if it did, you'd be looking at some severe burns to your hands long before you damaged your discs.