• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Questions on footwear

sweeper

Eagle Member
I am not asking where to get them or, necessarily what shoes are best. I am more interested in the "why" of it all.

I am fairly new to the game, I've been playing almost a year and I see and hear people on the course and on this site talking about what shoes they were. I have heard a lot about some Bite Me shoes that everyone seems to like.

I mean on most average courses, other than a little wet, what do you really need? Sometimes, I could go for a little waterproofing, but for the most part, I don't want to give up the athletic feel, light weight, comfort and flexibility (sp?) of sneakers (usually addidas low tops) for the weight and bulk of a boot.

What is the deal with shoes, boots, sneakers and what should I look for/ what am I missing by just playing in average athletic shoes?

I will not be a sales pitch. Comfort, support, and traction are the major things I look for. If your playing in a tournament then you will be on your feet for hours at a time a lot of just standing, and that is very hard on my knees. One of the things I look for is a good arch. In my opinion Salomon's fit my feet the best, but different strokes for different folks. On tournament weekends I bring 2 pair 1 for each day, I don't like wearing the same shoe day after day.

For me i only wear boots in winter or if it is gonna rain during the day. Other than that I go with cross training type shoes, and I bring two pairs to any tourney just in case. IMO boots arent really needed unless foul weather is in store and for me they just make my feet too heavy to play at my top level.