• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Artist Tournament Vendor

Martin Dewgarita

* Ace Member *
Gold level trusted reviewer
Some thoughts are battling it out in my head (scary I know). Maybe it's crazy, or maybe it's brilliant. I am a disc golf artist - Treasures of the Forest (see my thread Hand Turned Wooden Minis browse towards the end to see where I'm at now) and a vendor (In the past, I have vended at a handful of tournaments, only on the side accepting cash, no funny money payouts).

Now I'm imagining finding a TD or two to work with to provide my services. This would be trophies for the event (for a fee, trophies created by Treasures of the Forest, or possibly in collaboration with another artist), players packs (again, for a fee, either Treasures of the Forest or collaboration with other artists) and managing all payouts (bouncing some funds back to the event).

Now my biggest question is can this be done without an inventory of discs on hand, what if all I carried was disc golf related art (my minis, glass minis, hand made bags, paintings, hand drying bags, birdie beads, zipper pulls, etc), and then if someone still can't find anything to spend funny money on, I could transfer it to an online store to buy plastic from a third party.

This brainstorm is coming from several years of working with the Purple Turtle Artisan collective, a collection of about 150 artists that we push all over the region. The Purple Turtle in collaboration with Treasures of the Forest would be the title sponsors of this event promoting disc golf artists.

So I guess 3 things

1. Speaking mostly to the Am players - Is this something you would play in, be excited to win some payouts in, and support as a player? Or do you imagine that players would be in support of such an event?