• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

[Question] Best Long Distance Putters

SuperWookie

Birdie Member
I've been meaning to ask everyone about long putts. I have a few different putters I've used since I started playing a few years ago. And the ONLY putters I've found to work even half way decent so far are Kastaplast K3 Reko and the Discmania Link Exo Soft. They are the only two putters I've tried so far that are even sort of straight on shorter putts, as well as feel perfect in my hand. Anything from 5-20' is usually in.

But then as I get out to the 20/25' range or farther, the discs start turning left with a little fade. Which I know is just due to the distance and the putter having more air time to fade.

But when I go to putt from like 30+ feet, it's a total guessing game as to how much it will fade and then you add in wind, elevation and other stuff, and it's basically never going in. And those putters are 3/3/0/1 and 2/3/0/1. So very neutral, with not much fade, and it only shows up on longer putts.

So I'm just wondering if going to a putter with either more glide, more turn, or less fade will help straighten out putts from longer distances? I tried thinking about it objectively and can't come to a good conclusion.

Like if I got to a putter that's say 2/4/0/1 or something like that, will that help it stay straighter a little longer, because it's gliding more and not fading as fast? Or will it just help the disc float past the basket farther if I miss?

And if I go to a 3/3/-1/1, 3/3/-1/0, or 3/3/0/0 will that keep it straighter longer, or just make it turn right later in it's flight?