• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Help on disc selection

dhlogic1

I'm new to disc golf and have only been playing for a little under one month. Not doing much research, other than looking at the disc selection charts in the store, I decided upon a 172g Champion Beast as a driver. It certainly sounded and looked appealing to me at the moment :oops:

The following few weeks I struggled throwing it straight. As a RHBH thrower, going hard left was a common occurance. But now I throw it with moderate anhyzer and to the right. I use a power grip and x-step run up. With this technique, it starts off going right immediately, then starts coming back left ending up relatively straight ahead. I can consistantly throw like this for 260-280 feet on a football field. Compensating for my lack of arm speed and snap (im guessing?) with anhyzer and throwing to the right seemed like power and ultimately distance was being wasted by "fighting" the disc. Getting more serious into the sport I came across the PDGA forums and saw Blake posting this:

i always push for people to work their way up incrementally because moving up to discs that are too fast and overstable will often lead to anhyzer tendencies which will severely limit your disc selection later on down the road and require a lot of adjustments to counteract.

Obviously this sounds like me and I dont want to run into problems down the road limiting me. Given my situation what disc is suitable for my level? And with this new disc, what should I be doing to improve to the point where I could throw a Beast? Thank you.

Dan

i'm currently working on a more thorough disc selection article.

here is my current breakdown
tier 1 = less than 250' power
tier 2 = 225-300' power
tier 3 = 300-350' power
tier 4 = 350+ power

Tier 1:
Cobra
Panther
Puma