• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

How to Avoid Injury

TheBeardedFatGuy

Birdie Member
First let me say, I'm not a medical professional - far from it. I'm just an amateur whose had a few brushes with disc golf-related injury over the nearly two years I've been playing and I'd like to share some of what I've learned to hopefully help other beginners have long, healthy lives playing the sport. These aren't in any particular order and any suggestions for improvements would be much appreciated.

1. Don't underestimate the risks. Injuries on the course can be severe enough to not only permanently end your disc golfing, they can also reduce your standard of living off the course, possibly for the rest of your life. A torn meniscus in your knee or rotator cuff in your shoulder can lead to expensive and painful surgery and possible pain and lessened functionality for the rest of your life. Think not being able to huck frisbees sucks? Try not being able to go hiking, go down stairs, or lift or work on anything over your head.

2. Know your physical limitations. Do you have issues of prior injury, age, non-athleticism, obesity, inflexibility, lack of balance, etc? Make sure you play within these limitations and don't push yourself to do more unless you know you can handle it.