• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Learning the X-Step

healage

Hey guys -- I've been playing for about 4 years but haven't added significant distance to my drive in about 3 years. Probably because I don't X-Step. The first video consists of three short drives. Two run-up, one standstill. The second consists of 6 drives. The first is my normal drive, the last 5 are all my attempt at the X-step.

My short game is awesome and I've won some tournaments in Advanced, but I need to improve my drive to really get to the next level. Thanks in advance for any advice.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kNGcipi09Ck

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KOOyUxAKYik

Healy-Monster!!!!

I can definitely attest to Sean's skills ... he definitely outplays me with his accuracy, short game and consistent putting.

Sean - we've played enough rounds together for me to say that I've always thought your form prevented you from accelerating through the "hit." You've played with Cuts and Stevie enough to know how they really drive their hips through the "hit." It looks like you don't really do that.

As an aside ... Sean has in turn played enough rounds with me to (I hope) acknowledge the fact that I use the X-step, get my hips and shoulders turned away from the fairway, and along with a long reach back, get solid 350-370' golf distance. I really should get a video up here ...

Craig Smolin said:
You've played with Cuts and Stevie enough to know how they really drive their hips through the "hit." It looks like you don't really do that.