• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Longer Approach Disc

sqorbit

I'm just starting out and have mostly focused on close putts and drives to get my technique down. I'm still pretty a pretty bad player though and as such I end up with some longer approach shots that I don't like to use a mid range for. I use the Avair exclusively as my putter. Is there an approach disc that easy for beginners to use that will give me a little more distance than my putter? I'm using a Shark for most of my mid range shots since that was recommended as a good beginners disc. I guess what I'm looking the disc equivalent of a pitching wedge. Is there such a thing or should I just be focusing on the Shark for these shots?

If you practice your technique a putter should be completely usable between 10-270', and mids also cover a lot of the same range while also extending it further. What you actually want to use depends as much on your style as it depends on the circumstances.

What exactly are you trying to achieve with the shot? What sort of range are we talking about? Why don't you like using your mids at that range and why doesn't the Aviar work? Give us a bit more to work with. Also I'd say that since you're just starting out, one of the best things to do is to learn how to throw putters longer and straighter. An Aviar can go a long long way without flipping with good technique and the answer to your problem might not be a disc at all, just learning how to throw better. Quick fixes like too specific discs tend to cause trouble down the line. =)