• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Multiple color dyeing

Tfire25

Double Eagle Member
So I'm a noob at dyeing discs. I have done a couple but they have all been solid color dyes. I keep hearing to cut out the whole picture and weed out as you go. What does weeding out mean?

Do I cut out all the vinyl and then replace the pieces as I do different colors?

When you say remasking, does that mean you cut out a different piece of vinyl and try to lay it on perfect over the other parts already died?

Why is it so bad to cut out vinyl on the disc? Is it just in case I push to hard?

Thank you in advance guys.

This is the picture I'm trying to do btw. On a white disc, red, purple, orange hair. Gray for shading, and black for the darkest shading and all of the outlines. I know it's ambitious but I think I could learn a lot from it.

One question I forgot to ask; can I dye anything over black or do I need to re-cover all of that again?

When I cut an image I cut everything I want cut all at the same time. Then just remove the areas I want dyed at that time. That is called weeding. I will typically use elmers glue to cover the cut lines I don't want dye in. You can dye any color over black. Remasking is when you need to cover an already dyed area with vinyl before dying a new color. It is typically done by placing a new piece of vinyl on the disc and cutting on the disc. You need to be careful. But it's not too difficult with a little practice. Nothing wrong with cutting on the disc if you are careful. Ask away if you have more questions.