• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Need Help with Accuracy

Seppi

For starters, I'm brand new to disc golf. That being said, I need some help. From what I've heard and read, newbies generally struggle with distance and developing arm speed. This causes almost no issue for me. I can throw far and dead straight off the tee.

My issue is aiming... Like I said, I can throw dead straight... straight into trees, bushes, far off right and far off left. This is frustrating because my friends lob 75 foot shots into the middle of the fairway and get better scores than me because I rip drives straight into trees that would otherwise soar very far.

So like I said, I can throw very far and very straight, just not in the direction I want. From what I hear, I should be turning my head away from the basket when I drive to get a farther reach back. This makes sense to me, but I'm blind as I come around and I don't know when to release.

Any tips? Thanks!

don't release-- aim with the body and pull through on the line you want to hit with the disc matching that angle (flat, hyzer, anhyzer) to get the disc where you want it and with the finish you intended.

Do you run-up straight from the back of the tee pad for every throw, regardless of angle or line you try to hit?

No, I generally try to run up at an angle that points my lead shoulder where I want the disc to start heading. Is that good or bad?

Out of curiosity, how far are you throwing?