• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

New to Minnesota/Tournaments

IThrowATilt

Hi all,
Just thought I would introduce myself. I am formerly from Iowa and have really gotten into disc golf over the past few months. I started about 4.5 years back after graduating high school. Just used disc golf as a way to get out of the house. Throughout college, I was not able to play often and would clock in maybe 20 rounds total a year. I still consider myself a newbie even though I've owned discs for almost 5 years. Recently, I graduated college and moved to Minnesota where I started playing more often. I would like to start playing in tournaments and play some winter rounds. However, I feel as if I am not very good compared to others and would like to get better.

I struggle with understanding disc selection and what discs to throw in what conditions. What are the best ways to figure this out at the same time as improving form?

Thanks! Excited to be a part of the community.

Step 1: Put the Tilt away.

Welcome to MN. You're in a great city for disc golf.

find the local leagues and start there

cheaper and you can socialize that way too while also figure out how "good" you are

IThrowATilt lives in Rochester, the town I was referring to.

you played driftless yet

or checked out st charles

you have courses around you but they suck

what about ibm

Guess that's why there was never a Minneapolis Vikings.

Kinda. Every time Minneapolis gets or does anything, St. Paul whines like an annoying little brother until it gets included. So, everything has to be Minneapolis/St.Paul or just Minnesota.

My advice: